RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #133

17 Aug

nfpb2016

Mr. Matisse and His CutoutsMr. Matisse and His Cutouts by Annemarie van Haeringen
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
An inspiring read about not letting one’s poor health get in the way of doing what you love- and in this case presenting a new way to see the world.

Other picture books about Matisse: Henri’s Scissors by Jeanette Winter and The Iridescence of Birds by Patricia MacLachlan.
View all my reviews

WonderfallWonderfall by Michael Hall
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I’m a fan of Michael Hall’s books. They’re always so creative and this one is no exception. As the title indicates, there’s going to be plenty of wordplay. Celebrating the seasons- particularly fall- from a tree’s point of view, readers are treated to short poems and great visuals. Perfect for read-alouds.

I’m also marking this as a nonfiction picture book as well because the back matter includes some information about the animals featured as well as a life of a tree.
View all my reviews

Antsy Ansel: Ansel Adams, a Life in NatureAntsy Ansel: Ansel Adams, a Life in Nature by Cindy Jenson-Elliot
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I knew of him and his photographs so it was fascinating to read about the man behind the lens. From a young boy who couldn’t keep still, he grew up capturing moments in nature that were full of life despite them being photographs. I loved that his parents (particularly his father) were very understanding and encouraging of him even taking him out of school and then giving him a camera as a present during an outdoor vacation. The mixed media collage style reminded me of Duncan Tonatiuh’s and I loved the incorporation of his photographs. It made me realize how capturing nature and sharing them with others is a great way to get people to fall in love with the world and maybe get them to take care of it.

Publishes September 6th.
View all my reviews

 

2 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #133

  1. annettepimentel

    August 17, 2016 at 4:49 pm

    I’m feeling antsy to get my hands on the Ansel Adams book!

     
  2. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    August 21, 2016 at 3:21 pm

    Ansel Adams definitely isn’t as well known here in Canada as he is in the States, I actually hadn’t heard of his work before catching a TV program on him on PBS years ago! I would certainly be curious to learn more about this fascinating and talented photographer.

     

Leave a Reply

 
