RSS

#IMWAYR- August 21, 2016

21 Aug

This week, I posted:

-Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday- Read my reviews for:

-Celebrate This Week- This week, I’m celebrating Educator Night and my current favorite Young Adult series!

Marvelous Cornelius: Hurricane Katrina and the Spirit of New OrleansMarvelous Cornelius: Hurricane Katrina and the Spirit of New Orleans by Phil Bildner
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I’d been hearing a lot about this modern folk tale picture book. An inspiring book about doing good and not giving up.
View all my reviews

Dory Dory Black SheepDory Dory Black Sheep by Abby Hanlon
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
After a rather weak sophomore showing in this series, Dory is back- better than before! Her quirks and misadventures will surely make her stand along other literary greats like Ramona Quimby!
View all my reviews

Sprout Street Neighbors: Five StoriesSprout Street Neighbors: Five Stories by Anna Alter

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Absolutely charming new series about five friends who live in the same building. Readers will find themselves relating to at least one of the characters- or a combination of them. These stories celebrate differences and friendship and working together in a super sweet way.
View all my reviews

Armstrong: A Mouse on the MoonArmstrong: A Mouse on the Moon by Torben Kuhlmann
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
This longer picture book is full of lavish illustrations about an inventive mouse who dreams of going to space to prove to other mice that the moon isn’t made of cheese! And like its predecessor- Lindbergh, this offers a cute wink and nudge to the human counterparts!
View all my reviews

The Artist and MeThe Artist and Me by Shane Peacock
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This was definitely an interesting picture book and topic matter. It tackles bullying (and not your typical in-school kids-against-kids bullying either) and the creative misunderstood life of Van Gogh.
View all my reviews

My Favorite Pets: by Gus W. for Ms. Smolinski's ClassMy Favorite Pets: by Gus W. for Ms. Smolinski’s Class by Jeanne Birdsall
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Charming silly story about a sheep-obsessed boy. Readers will be delighted with all the trouble Gus can get into!
View all my reviews

Goodbye Summer, Hello AutumnGoodbye Summer, Hello Autumn by Kenard Pak
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Absolutely beautiful picture book about the transition of one season to another. Maybe it’s the heat wave we’ve been experiencing but I just welcomed the cool colors of fall. A sweet story perfect for an outdoor read-aloud or an indoor cuddling book.
View all my reviews

Giraffes Ruin EverythingGiraffes Ruin Everything by Heidi Schulz
Cute picture book about how giraffes aren’t really that good to have around. Heidi Schulz was at our store a year or so ago for a book club and she had mentioned this story inspired by a real run-in she had with a giraffe so it’s cool to get to read this! The illustrations are great!
View all my reviews

Hocus Pocus, It's Fall!Hocus Pocus, It’s Fall! by Anne Sibley O’Brien
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Lift the flaps reveal spring surprises in this vibrantly illustrated book. I like it even more than Abracadabra, It’s Spring! but then again fall is my favorite season.
View all my reviews

Hand in HandHand in Hand by Rosemary Wells
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Fans of Read to Your Bunny will cherish this special picture book about the important role parents have in a child’s life. I’m very excited Rosemary Wells is coming to our store in September!
View all my reviews

The Bear Who Wasn't ThereThe Bear Who Wasn’t There by LeUyen Pham
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I can’t wait to start sharing this picture book which breaks down the wall between reader and writer. Such a fun book that I’m sure readers will enjoy each and every inch.
View all my reviews

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “#IMWAYR- August 21, 2016

  1. aaroncleaveley

    August 22, 2016 at 12:08 am

    Nice to hear that Dory gets even better than the first, I still haven’t read that second one yet. I will check out the Rosemary Wells for sure as I have had many fun hours reading her books with my kids, Voyage to the Bunny Planet was a classic in our house for years. Thanks for the post.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    August 22, 2016 at 6:58 am

    I’ve been out of town, and am glad you shared those new n-f books reviewed last week. They each sound great, Earl. And thanks for the rest of them too. Will look for most!

     
  3. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    August 22, 2016 at 8:55 am

    So many great books this week, Earl! I really looking forward to the new Dory book, the first one was such an awesome read-aloud.

     
  4. cweichel

    August 22, 2016 at 9:22 am

    Looks like you had a great reading week Earl. I love Dory and can’t wait to read this Shane Peacock.

     
  5. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    August 22, 2016 at 12:57 pm

    Oooh! I definitely need to read Antsy Ansel. I hadn’t heard of that one yet.

     
  6. Ricki Ginsberg

    August 22, 2016 at 8:14 pm

    My goodness you were busy! I really want to read Antsy Ansel. It looks interesting!

     
  7. Myra GB

    August 23, 2016 at 9:50 pm

    The Bear Who Wasn’t There looks like my kind of read. I am taking note of your artist-themed picturebooks as well since that is our upcoming reading theme for September-October. 🙂

     
  8. annettepimentel

    August 24, 2016 at 7:32 am

    I’m really interested to read The Artist and Me. Another book that tackled bullying in a surprising but effective way is A Friend for Lakota, a nonfiction title about how a single wolf changed the “bullying” culture in its pack.

     

Leave a Reply

 
