RSS

#IMWAYR- August 28, 2016

28 Aug

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating Christopher Pike’s Spooksville series, as part of my Reading Challenge!

We had our Summer Graphic Novel Book Club for Kids at work. We discussed Cathy Camper’s Lowriders in Space. One of the fun answers the girls gave were to my question of what would they do if they won a “carload of cash” like the character in the story. One started of by saying they would open up a cat hotel. And the other two girls ended up building on that so they actually had a pretty amusing business idea.

Last month’s title was Mark Fearing’s Earthling which you can read about here. Our first graphic novel was Gene Luen Yang’s Secret Coders. I don’t think I wrote about that but two of the girls there had perfect attendance at all three of our book club meetings. With this one, we also solved some puzzles which was fun.

Also, this week, I went to the Oregon Historical Society Museum. There was an exhibit a customer told me about after I sold their family a couple of graphic novels. Comic City, USA features the history of comics with an Oregon focus from political cartoons to digital graphic novels. I was super impressed by the many interactive elements in the exhibits- from videos to drawing stations to multimedia activities. I think it helps create a better and lasting effect between the people and the pieces.

Other exhibits I enjoyed checking out were Democracy’s Blueprints: The Documents that Built America and Baseball’s Magna Carta: Setting the Rules of America’s Game.

The NosyhoodThe Nosyhood by Tim Lahan

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This tall book starts off quite silly and ends bizarrely. I wish the title and the cover wasn’t so spoilery.

View all my reviews

Quit Calling Me a Monster!Quit Calling Me a Monster! by Jory John

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Fans of I Will Chomp You! will delight in this picture book full of sly humor and lively illustrations. Would make for a fun read-aloud.

View all my reviews

Snail and Worm: Three Stories About Two FriendsSnail and Worm: Three Stories About Two Friends by Tina Kugler

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’ve heard good things about this book but for some reason only just read it. I quite enjoyed it. There’s an oddball quality to it that I think people would love. I can’t wait for the next one.

View all my reviews

Choose Your DaysChoose Your Days by Paula Wallace

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A regular customer bought a copy of this book and since she usually had an eye for the unusual or not-as-popular, I decided to read this picture book as well. A sweet story about living one’s life to the fullest but I would say adults would appreciate this more than kids.

View all my reviews

Can One Balloon Make an Elephant Fly?Can One Balloon Make an Elephant Fly? by Dan Richards

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I enjoyed the illustrations more the story in this one. I was worried the mom was going to ignore the kid throughout the whole book. A cute whimsical read.

View all my reviews

Don't Cross the Line!Don’t Cross the Line! by Bernardo Carvalho

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was originally averse to reading this book because I didn’t like the illustrations. But once it made a list of unusual books, I gave it a try and actually enjoyed it. I flipped back to the beginning multiple times to follow the different characters’ stories within the larger story.

View all my reviews

Paulie Pastrami Achieves World PeacePaulie Pastrami Achieves World Peace by James Proimos

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was browsing the library discard store before my volunteer shift and discovered this book about kindness. I love it for its message. The story and character and twist were clever and endearing! This would be a great fun read-aloud in classrooms.

View all my reviews

The Uncorker of Ocean BottlesThe Uncorker of Ocean Bottles by Michelle Cuevas

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book deserves all the pre-pub positive buzz it received. Absolutely beautiful in both written and visual storytelling and style. Reminiscent of the Stead’s A Sick Day for Amos McGee, it truly is a tender tale of kindness (and appreciating the good works of others) one should experience. Caldecott contender.

View all my reviews

Pod vs. Pod (Squish, #8)Pod vs. Pod by Jennifer L. Holm

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Squish is back with triple the trouble as he deals with his friend’s mysterious behavior. While I like the books, I feel the series should end soon.

View all my reviews

Hilda and the TrollHilda and the Troll by Luke Pearson

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Hilda has been quite popular at our store and I wanted to see why. Unfortunately, the story here is sorely lacking. The current edition is the original “Hildafolk” story plus some bonus features. The only reason I didn’t give up on the series after this one was because the art was beautiful, very comforting color pallet.

View all my reviews

Hilda and the Midnight GiantHilda and the Midnight Giant by Luke Pearson

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

In this second installment, the character and the series both benefitted with a longer storyline. Hilda is quite the adventurer, full of spunk. I can see why people like her. I love the bonus content- this one referencing the different types of giants.

View all my reviews

The Little Bookstore of Big Stone Gap: A Memoir of Friendship, Community, and the Uncommon Pleasure of a Good BookThe Little Bookstore of Big Stone Gap: A Memoir of Friendship, Community, and the Uncommon Pleasure of a Good Book by Wendy Welch

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’ve been curious about how other bookstores/booksellers run their lives so this was a nice find in the library. Bonus points that it was a recent memoir and the bookstore seems to still be going strong. Even though I work at a primarily new inventory bookstore, I still had a few relatable moments after reading about some of the customers. Definitely the strong point was getting a feel of the people in town. There was a rather powerful story shared about a Westerns-loving customer. And I enjoyed the Bookstores Road Trip. I would have preferred the book to be a little shorter but it was an enjoyable read nonetheless.

View all my reviews

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

5 responses to “#IMWAYR- August 28, 2016

  1. cweichel

    August 28, 2016 at 10:36 pm

    I love Paulie Pastrami and agree with your thoughts on it. It’s a book that fills readers with hope. After reading your comments here about The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles, I got all excited and went to see if it was available from our local library. Alas, I’m going to have to wait for the pleasure of reading it.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    August 29, 2016 at 7:30 am

    The exhibit of comic history sounds great, Earl. I am so looking forward to reading The Uncorked of Ocean Bottles, may need to purchase that one! Thanks for all the books shared, will look for some of them.

     
  3. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    August 29, 2016 at 10:15 am

    I’ve been seeing The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles on a few blogs recently, it looks fantastic, but like Cheriee I’ll have to wait for it to come into the library. It’s one of the most frustrating thing about reading American blogs – you guys get all the books before we do, and I get so impatient waiting for them!!!! 😉

     
  4. Tara Smith

    August 29, 2016 at 2:16 pm

    We have all three of John Lewis’ books – a wonderful treasure.

     
  5. Michele

    August 29, 2016 at 4:03 pm

    Squish doesn’t feel as original anymore. I keep buying the books but they aren’t as widely read I’ve noticed. Uncorker was gorgeous, wasn’t it? I put Monster on hold. Jory John’s books can be hits or misses.

     

Leave a Reply

 
