RSS

#NFPB2016 #135

31 Aug

nfpb2016

Heart on Fire: Susan B. Anthony Votes for PresidentHeart on Fire: Susan B. Anthony Votes for President by Ann Malaspina

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

To commemorate 100 years of women’s suffrage, I decided to read about one of the lead characters in that movement. It truly is amazing how certain groups of people feel entirely entitled to what should be everyone’s birthright. (I’m going off on a tangent with this review since I’m not specifically talking about voting in the United States but freedom in the world.) Thank goodness for people like Susan B. Anthony who go on fighting for what’s right even when they are mocked and punished and sadly don’t live to see what they’ve succeeded in changing.

View all my reviews

Barack Obama: Son of Promise, Child of HopeBarack Obama: Son of Promise, Child of Hope by Nikki Grimes

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

As I was reading this biography of our current president, I loved the wordplay in the book’s title. The style is like Finding Winnie. Includes a pretty good back matter full of additional information.

View all my reviews

 

2 responses to “#NFPB2016 #135

  1. Linda Baie

    August 31, 2016 at 7:15 am

    The book about President Obama is a new one to me, Earl. Thanks for telling about it. We will miss him!

     
  2. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    August 31, 2016 at 8:48 am

    I get so, so, so frustrated with people who can’t be bothered to vote, or forget the vote date, or don’t take voting seriously – so many of us only have the vote at all because of the tireless efforts and sacrifices of people like Susan B. Anthony. We owe it to them, and to ourselves to make the effort whenever possible.

     

Leave a Reply

 
