RSS

#CelebrateLU- September 2, 2016/ Reading Resolutions: Summer Update

02 Sep
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating my progress with my Reading Challenges!

Posts of interest:
#MustReadin2016– updated
Reading Resolutions: Spring Update
Pride Challenge
Pride Challenge Update
Reading Challenge: March

I figured keeping a quarterly update on the ones I’m participating in will be a great way to keep track of my progress!

Reading Snapshot Goal: 666 books– Follow me on Goodreads.
486 Books Read in 2016
15 Adult Fiction
23 Adult Non-Fiction
50 Graphic Novels
56 Middle Readers
337 Picture Books
5 Young Adult

mustreadin2016challenge

#MustReadin2016 Goal: 116 books– I currently updated this list so hopefully it’s in its final stage! I started the year off with 81 titles and now I’m up to 116 books including 2016 releases. I only need to read 25 more books to complete my list! Click on my MustReadin2016 post for reviews.
–Agatha Christie/ Off the Shelf Goal: 15 books– 6 books read this quarter for a total of 10. Click on my MustReadin2016 post for reviews.
Spooksville/Off the Shelf Reading Challenge– Completed
National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature/ Gene Luen Yang Avatar Reading Challenge– Completed. I even got to meet Gene Yang which was a definite highlight of my year!

gy1

Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales Reading Challenge– Completed
Doreen Rappaport Big Word Biographies Reading Challenge– Completed
Non-Fiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 Goal: 104 books– 61 more books read this quarter for a total of 91.

Commitment to Literacy

I got to participate again in Rox in Sox. Green Bean Books was the bookseller for this music and book festival. We curated the author line-up which this year included Shannon Joy and Rojo the Llama and Brian W. Parker of Believe in Wonder Publishing as well as returning writer Cathy Camper. It’s always nice to introduce people to newer authors and illustrators, especially when they offer something different. I loved that I was able to witness special moments between authors and readers.

Last year, I spoke on camera helping to promote the event. This year, I helped introduce the authors on stage. I always try to do something that terrifies me or challenges me- and speaking in front of a crowd definitely does that!

Click here fore pics.

Readings & Literary Events

-I attended a new comic bookstore- Books with Pictures. I love talking up this place since Portland is such a comics-loving city! In fact, I also attended a great exhibit last week focusing on this. And, our Kids Book Club this summer were all graphic novels.

-I also attended a Silent Reading Party and checked out a secret bar behind a bookcase! Read about it here.

-I checked out a cool Book-O-Mat which is like Netflix for libraries. Then, I toured a few Little Free Libraries that were converted to Little Free Galleries.

-I gave my friend a brief tour of Beverly Cleary’s neighborhood. Read about Beverly Cleary’s 100th birthday celebration here.

-I volunteered at the Friends Spring Book Sale, the Clackamas Bookshelf, and Books 2 U part of Multnomah County Library’s many many services.

-I watched a couple of plays based on books- Peter and the Starcatcher and A Streetcar Named Desire.

-Kidlit musician Emily Arrow shot a couple of videos at Green Bean Books. First, some silly scenes from her store visit.

Check out Behind the Scenes pics of Emily Arrow’s bookstore video here.

And, her latest video is for Brendan Wenzel’s They All Saw a Cat.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

6 responses to “#CelebrateLU- September 2, 2016/ Reading Resolutions: Summer Update

  1. Maria

    September 3, 2016 at 2:01 pm

    Your post is so full of celebrations! I would love to visit all the places you mention. It’s fun to visit all the bookstores along with you. Hope you have a great long weekend.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    September 3, 2016 at 2:17 pm

    You are doing so much for books & reading, Earl- wow! Someday I’m going to be in Portland to meet you & see that bookstore!

     
  3. carriegelson

    September 4, 2016 at 6:59 pm

    Love your scene in Emily’s video! Such fun. What a wonderful bookstore.

     
  4. Ramona

    September 5, 2016 at 7:07 am

    So many wonderful celebrations. I got to hear Gene Luen Yang in Bellingham last winter. He was a great speaker and so inspiring. Even got this math phobic into some coding challenges during his talk. I think I’ll find out when Linda’s heading to Portland and meet her at your bookstore!

     
  5. Crystal

    September 5, 2016 at 9:42 am

    There is so much to love here. 🙂 I hope to meet Emily Arrow in October when she’s in WI. I would love to meet Gene Luen Yang. I keep missing him when he is in MN. I’m so glad you are getting to do so many wonderful bookish things.

     
  6. cvarsalona

    September 7, 2016 at 11:58 am

    Earl, your reading achievements are amazing. I love your video with Emily. Independent bookstores are the place to go!

     

Leave a Reply

 
