RSS

#IMWAYR- September 4, 2016

04 Sep

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating my reading challenges with an update including how I’m doing with my #MustReadin2016 list!

Paycheck to Paycheck– On one of my other blogs I shared my financial situation and it’ll be interesting how I handle debt!

Be the Change: A Grandfather Gandhi StoryBe the Change: A Grandfather Gandhi Story by Arun Gandhi
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I didn’t realize the team behind Grandfather Gandhi had collaborated for another picture book. (I wonder if this is going to be a series?) This tackles an interesting concept of passive violence in terms of being wasteful. It’s quite intriguing. Maybe this could be included in Earth Day readalouds.

View all my reviews

God Bless the GargoylesGod Bless the Gargoyles by Dav Pilkey
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I didn’t know what I was expecting with this picture book. I was fascinated by the art. Told in rhyme with a nice message, it’s a fine enough story.

View all my reviews

Leaping Lemmings!Leaping Lemmings! by John Briggs
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Cute story about being your own self and not following what others are doing unless you want to.

View all my reviews

They All Saw a CatThey All Saw a Cat by Brendan Wenzel
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I wanted to read this a second time before I reviewed it. Maybe it was too hyped up for me to actually enjoy it. I’ll still recommend it thought for the art styles and it’ll be a good discussion about how we perceive others.

View all my reviews

The Cookie Fiasco (Elephant & Piggie Like Reading!, #1)The Cookie Fiasco by Dan Santat
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was very excited to see Elephant and Piggie again even as hosts to a new series of beginning readers. In this first installment, we have four friends and three cookies causing one big problem. Dan Santat is hilarious and I love the different art styles he used in this one.

View all my reviews

We Are Growing! (Elephant & Piggie like reading!, #2)We Are Growing! by Laurie Keller
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was very excited to see Elephant and Piggie again even as hosts to a new series of beginning readers. In this second installment, Laurie Keller writes about blades of grass who end up growing- except one. I really thought the ending was going to be much darker than it actually was but I remembered grass doesn’t bleed.

View all my reviews

Pinocchio: The Origin StoryPinocchio: The Origin Story by Alessandro Sanna
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I loved Alessandro Sanna’s The River a few years ago and Pinocchio is/was my favorite Disney movie- plus I was familiar with the original story- so I was kind of excited for this. It was a very original take for a prequel with lots of hints at what lay ahead for our main character. Beautiful illustrations. And there’s a story behind why this story was written.

View all my reviews

GhostGhost by Jason Reynolds
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I love that I didn’t even know about this new release and it’s one of my top middle grade novel of 2016! It reminded me a little bit of Maniac Magee because of the running aspect. And while I was annoyed at Ghost’s character in the beginning- but only because I hate it when people are randomly picked out for their “special-ness” like he was when he decided to crash their practice- I loved the authenticity of his thoughts and actions. Of all the drama they threw at him, I appreciated how Jason Reynolds decided not to overdo it and it made the story flow so much better. I’m hooked. I can’t wait for the other books in the series. (This is also a great example of a novel with which I think people are calling “casual diversity.”)

View all my reviews

DramaDrama by Raina Telgemeier
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’d been meaning to read Raina Telgemeier’s other works since she’s super popular and I did enjoy Smile. I really had a blast reading Drama- and I was to see what the drama was some people had with this graphic novel. It reminded me of the TV show Glee- all its good and bad parts.

View all my reviews

SistersSisters by Raina Telgemeier
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I didn’t enjoy this as much as Smile or Drama. I have to hand it to A though because she wasn’t portrayed so well and it was just written off as part of who she was. It’ll be interesting if she would eventually write a complete memoir of her childhood as a graphic novel-text hybrid, even using parts from Smile and Sisters.

View all my reviews

Paths & Portals (Secret Coders, #2)Paths & Portals by Gene Luen Yang
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I admit I wasn’t as much a fan of this one as the first one. I did like the fact it builds on everything from the first book without recapping. At the same time, the computer coding lessons were a bit more difficult. I think readers who are already into the subject will enjoy it more. The story wasn’t as strong although everything is building up to something I can’t wait to read about!

View all my reviews

On The Books: A Graphic Tale of Working Woes at NYC's Strand BookstoreOn The Books: A Graphic Tale of Working Woes at NYC’s Strand Bookstore by Greg Farrell
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I was very curious about this graphic novel because I love books about bookstores. This focused on the Strand bookstore and a union dispute that was going on a few years ago. It seemed kinda whiny to me even though of course I want everyone to be paid a respectable amount.

View all my reviews

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “#IMWAYR- September 4, 2016

  1. Linda Baie

    September 5, 2016 at 6:09 am

    I think I’d better look for Jason Reynolds’ Ghost. You and others are saying how good it is. Thanks for talking about Be The Change, too. I guess it might be a series. Have a great day, Earl.

     
  2. cweichel

    September 5, 2016 at 9:13 am

    I just put a hold on Jason Reynold’s Ghost. I’m excited because I haven’t read a Jason Reynold title I didn’t love. I think I’m going to have to wait a while to get to read the Elephant and Piggie Love Reading titles though.

     
  3. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    September 5, 2016 at 10:10 am

    I think so many of us deal with financial struggles, so I really commend you on your honesty and your willingness to share your situation with others. The financial gurus give straightforward “save more, spend less” advice, but don’t always take into account the emotional and psychological aspects involved. It’s kind of like losing weight – we all know how simple it is to eat less and do more, but it’s never that simple when emotions and outside factors are involved!

     
  4. Michele

    September 5, 2016 at 10:17 am

    I’m looking forward to getting to Ghost and the second Secret Coders. You’re the second person to talk about the Lemmings book, may need to check it out!

     
  5. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    September 5, 2016 at 2:55 pm

    I’m glad someone else found the Secret Coders books a bit over their head. The third one is even more detailed and it almost hurt the story for me.
    I am looking forward to Ghost by Reynolds. I love his lyrical writing.

    Happy reading this week 🙂

     
  6. Tammy and Clare

    September 5, 2016 at 2:55 pm

    Thanks for telling us about Ghost – Can’t wait to read it!

     
  7. aaroncleaveley

    September 5, 2016 at 10:57 pm

    I am also looking forward to Ghost, and I enjoyed your review of Drama. Thanks for the post.

     
  8. Myra GB

    September 7, 2016 at 11:18 pm

    I just ordered Be the Change and really looking forward to hearing more from this team – I enjoyed Grandfather Gandhi so really looking forward to this one. Loved Telgemeier’s Drama. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
