RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016

07 Sep

nfpb2016

Around America to Win the Vote: Two Suffragists, a Kitten, and 10,000 MilesAround America to Win the Vote: Two Suffragists, a Kitten, and 10,000 Miles by Mara Rockliff
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’m amazed by the extents of what these women did to get their voices heard. Really inspiring. I think face to face appeals are more effective than online campaigns. The latter may be more convenient but I don’t think the impact is as long-lasting. I’m glad there are so many good books like this during election year.

View all my reviews

How This Book Was MadeHow This Book Was Made by Mac Barnett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m including this as nonfiction because it does talk about how a book is made from ideas in the author’s head and even having it actually be printed overseas and other money-saving yet very time-consuming acts that explains why it takes forever for a book to hit the shelves. Readers will be laughing out loud along the way.

View all my reviews

I am Jane GoodallI am Jane Goodall by Brad Meltzer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A strong addition to a series I absolutely love. This book definitely seemed more text heavy than the previous ones. I loved the message that Jane Goodall imparts and I hope it inspires readers to think about the world in a different way. (Actually the book is chock full of great messages!)

View all my reviews

I am George WashingtonI am George Washington by Brad Meltzer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A strong addition to a series I absolutely love. This book definitely seemed more text heavy than the previous ones but readers will still enjoy learning about this great historical figure. A great starter to talk about makes a leader great.

View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016

  1. annettepimentel

    September 7, 2016 at 6:08 am

    I love seeing How This Book Was Made here and totally agree that it lists toward the nonfiction side of the aisle–a brilliant insight on your part!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    September 7, 2016 at 7:59 am

    I’m looking forward to How This Book Was Made, Earl, and still haven’t read any of the “I Am” series-something to remedy! Thanks!

     
  3. Michele

    September 7, 2016 at 8:55 am

    I really enjoyed Around America to Win the Vote and I can’t wait to find the other books on your list!

     

Leave a Reply

 
