RSS

#CelebrateLU- September 9, 2016

09 Sep
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating some great customers from work.

There’s a regular mother-daughter duo who come to the store practically every week and the girl is quite the voracious reader. One day she was a bit short so I lent her the difference thinking nothing of it since I trusted them. But then not only did the mom repay me but she also baked me a zucchini loaf. I thought it would have been just a slice but I was deliciously wrong!

loaf

Then there was a mom whose daughter absolutely fell in love with Tara Dairman’s All Four Stars series. The girl ended up writing the author a letter and was surprised that they got a personalized response from Tara which made the girl feel special! This was particularly good to hear since we always love hearing when our recommendations have been hits but also because I love it when I hear how awesome writers are as human beings!

It was the first day of school for many of our customers – whether they’re parents of students or educators. For the latter group, lots of them wanted School’s First Day of School as their first read-aloud of the year. Unfortunately because we loved recommending it to everyone, we were sold out. I was able to suggest some alternate titles based on what they wanted- The Adventures of Beekle and 365 Days of Wonder: Mr. Browne’s Book of Precepts.

Another customer whom I had a great moment with was this young lady who had come in on Monday and bought American Born Chinese. After I raved about that graphic novel and Gene Luen Yang in general, she came back the day to buy Boxers & Saints. Like me, she wasn’t originally a big graphic novel reader but now she was. We talked a little bit more about how good they were and I told her about a cool exhibit on the history and evolution of comics and graphics novels that I attended recently.

Finally, we had Rodolfo Montalvo stop by to read the picture book he illustrated Dear Dragon written by Josh Funk. He and his wife were super nice and I always love talking books with others. Dear Dragon is such a clever and hilarious book about friendship and mistaken identity told in rhyme. It’ll be perfect for National Poetry Month but I know I’ll be recommending it year-round!

rodolfo

What are you celebrating this week?

 

2 responses to “#CelebrateLU- September 9, 2016

  1. Linda Baie

    September 10, 2016 at 9:53 am

    So many wonderful things in your week, Earl. Wow! Love that zucchini surprise, and can’t wait to read Dear Dragon, and you got to meet the illustrator! I love working at my used bookstore, and while it’s not quite the same as yours, I love interacting with readers! Happy weekend, too!

     
  2. Tara Smith

    September 10, 2016 at 11:21 am

    How wonderful for your community book store that you are there to welcome and introduce readers to new treasures!

     

Leave a Reply

 
