RSS

#IMWAYR- September 11, 2016

11 Sep

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating great customers. Also, read my review for:

rodolfo

A Child of BooksA Child of Books by Oliver Jeffers

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

An absolutely beautiful book that celebrates books and stories. Everyone will be talking about this. I wish I had been one of the first people to read this though because I think I didn’t like it as much because of all the hype around it. It’s a great book to own and give though!

View all my reviews

Who What Where?Who What Where? by Olivier Tallec

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A companion to Who Done It? Even more visual puzzles that will entertain readers.

View all my reviews

First SnowFirst Snow by Bomi Park

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This would make a great companion to The Snowy Day. The book’s strong point is definitely the art.

View all my reviews

Chirri & ChirraChirri & Chirra by Kaya Doi

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Odd yet charming. Two girls find themselves discovering a forest full of delights. There was just something comforting about their sweet adventures.

View all my reviews

The JourneyThe Journey by Francesca Sanna

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Beautifully illustrated picture book about the refugee experience. It could definitely be used as a starting point to think about this very timely topic.

View all my reviews

Mary Had a Little GlamMary Had a Little Glam by Tammi Sauer

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Fans of Fancy Nancy may enjoy this very stylish picture book. The vibrant illustrations have lots going on.

View all my reviews

Buddy and Earl and the Great Big BabyBuddy and Earl and the Great Big Baby by Maureen Fergus

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I always try to give books with my name a try. I was familiar with this series. This story would be enjoyable for young readers but probably not for grown-ups who can tell the baby should have been better supervised. All the unnecessary destruction of property wasn’t cute.

View all my reviews

AberdeenAberdeen by Stacey Previn

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Cute illustrations about a little mouse who ends up far away from home.

View all my reviews

Captain Jack and the PiratesCaptain Jack and the Pirates by Peter Bently

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Cute story about some kids on the beach who end up sailing the high seas for pirate adventures.

View all my reviews

Mighty JackMighty Jack by Ben Hatke

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Surprisingly, I think I’ve read all of Ben Hatke’s books. I enjoyed his Zita trilogy the most but all of them are easy to recommend to others. I love the concept of Mighty Jack and can’t wait for more installments. It’s clearly the first of a series and I would have enjoyed it more if it had a stronger arc and resolution within the book.

View all my reviews

Full of BeansFull of Beans by Jennifer L. Holm

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I didn’t know what to expect from this novel plus it was a prequel to another book and I tend to read things in chronological order. But Full of Beans was a great standalone novel and full of surprises. I loved the characters and the lively language. I’m not usually a fan of historical novels but this had enough to actually get me curious. There are some historical contexts included at the back of the book as well. I’m looking forward to actually reading Turtle in Paradise now! Definitely one of my top 5 middle grade novels of 2016!

View all my reviews

Another BrooklynAnother Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This novel reads quickly because the words just flow so easily from one to the other creating a nostalgic feel as the main character reminisces about her early teenage years with her friends. The story and circumstances are beautiful and heartbreaking at the same time mixed in with a bit of mystery about her missing mother. The only thing that I didn’t like was that I didn’t feel like there was actual character growth after thinking about her past.

View all my reviews

Our Dreams for Our ChildrenOur Dreams for Our Children by Richard O. Weijo
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book caught my eye while I was browsing at the library. I love the ideas of manifestos and legacies, leaving one’s mark on the world or just ensuring one doesn’t do too much damage to the world that’s not ours alone but to every living creature that inhabits it.

View all my reviews

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

5 responses to “#IMWAYR- September 11, 2016

  1. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    September 12, 2016 at 9:48 am

    I have been seeing Mighty Jack popping up on blogs everywhere, it looks like something the kids at my local elementary schools would just devour, I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy so I can start booktalking it!

     
  2. Michele

    September 12, 2016 at 11:24 am

    I’m looking forward to First Snow. I’ve heard great things about the illustrations. I’m hoping it comes in at the library, not sure if it’s one I want to purchase just yet.
    Really excited to read Mighty Jack.
    LOVED Full of Beans, even more than Turtle. I really want to go to the Keys now!
    Your comments on Another Brooklyn have me intrigued….

     
  3. cweichel

    September 12, 2016 at 3:22 pm

    I’m looking forward to reading Full of Beans.and Another Brooklyn. Our Dreams for our children looks like an Important book. I enjoyed Mighty Jack much more than I expected to.

     
  4. Tara Smith

    September 12, 2016 at 6:16 pm

    I think I need to buy A Child of Books; I loved Woodson’s book – her voice is just so lyrical.

     
  5. Myra GB

    September 13, 2016 at 12:06 am

    I am excited about the Mac Barnett and Adam Rex collaboration. Bound to be hilarious, I bet. I am ordering A Child of Books now. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
