RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #137

14 Sep

nfpb2016

The William Hoy Story: How a Deaf Baseball Player Changed the GameThe William Hoy Story: How a Deaf Baseball Player Changed the Game by Nancy Churnin
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’m not much of a sports fan so anything baseball is new to me. I was completely ignorant that a deaf person could play the game and as well as William Hoy. I’m glad to have read this picture book to inform me and others that being deaf doesn’t preclude that person from doing everyday things. I hope he gets inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame!

And I love discovering Filipino writers and illustrators. Jez Tuya grew up in the Philippines and now living in New Zealand!

View all my reviews

Saved by the Boats: The Heroic Sea Evacuation of September 11Saved by the Boats: The Heroic Sea Evacuation of September 11 by Julie Gassman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

September 11 is forever etched on my mind as a day of tragedy and horror. Most of us can remember what we were doing that day when we saw and heard about the attacks. How fear and sadness pervaded our lives. But we also saw a coming together like never before that gave us hope. This picture book focuses on a not so well known aspect of that day- the sea evacuations to ferry the victims to safer lands. It’s a story I’m glad is being told. I didn’t know about it. I’ll definitely check out the documentary Boatlift.

View all my reviews

One Plastic Bag: Isatou Ceesay and the Recycling Women of the GambiaOne Plastic Bag: Isatou Ceesay and the Recycling Women of the Gambia by Miranda Paul
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Truly inspiring. I love how solutions are seen rather than problems. Naturally the problems have to be addressed first but some people don’t do anything about them. And we take for granted how one small act can accumulate into something greater. The result can be disastrous like the trash that threatened the livelihood of an entire village. Or it can result in positive changes from a clever way to recycle the plastic bags strewn about to providing a source of income to rebuild and replace the damages to sharing the knowledge with others empowering them that change is possible and within their grasps and finally to creating a world that is much cleaner and better off than what it was.

View all my reviews

14 Cows for America14 Cows for America by Carmen Agra Deedy
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This brought tears to my eyes. It is such a beautiful story of compassion. After hearing the horrific events of 9-11 from one of their fellow tribes people, the Maasai make a selfless gesture to reach out to people they don’t know far from where they are. It is an act that reminds us love is powerful enough to transcend space and differences in languages or culture. It is a powerful reminder that we are all the same therefore we should all look out for one another.

View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #137

  1. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    September 14, 2016 at 11:32 am

    Iv’e seen 14 Cows for America on a few blogs, but my local library doesn’t have a copy, sadness! Sounds like such a beautiful story of cultural connection and love.

     
  2. Michele

    September 14, 2016 at 6:09 pm

    Two really great 9.11 books. I just read Saved by the Boats too. Interesting what seems like a big part of the day didn’t get as publicized.

     
  3. annettepimentel

    September 14, 2016 at 9:28 pm

    I hadn’t known Jez Tuya is Filipino!

     

Leave a Reply

 
