RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #138

21 Sep

nfpb2016

Frederick Douglass: The Lion Who Wrote HistoryFrederick Douglass: The Lion Who Wrote History by Walter Dean Myers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This doesn’t come out until 2017 but I feel like this will one of those talked-about books next year. With text by the late Walter Dean Myers about the remarkable life of Frederick Douglas and to pair it with Floyd Cooper’s beautiful illustrations, how can it not be?

View all my reviews
 
Esquivel!  Space-Age Sound ArtistEsquivel!  Space-Age Sound Artist by Susan Wood
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I‘m a big fan of Duncan Tonatiuh’s art. I think I spent more time admiring his collages than the actual story of this musician I hadn’t heard of. (Maybe if I listen to snippets of his music, I will appreciate this book more.) I thought this would be like The Cosmobiography of Sun Ra by Chris Raschka.

View all my reviews
 
Tiny Creatures: The World of MicrobesTiny Creatures: The World of Microbes by Nicola Davies
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

 I’ve been curious about this book for awhile. It was in interesting look into microbes- what they are and what they do. The illustrations are gorgeous. (I always thought Nicola Davies did the art but this book was illustrated by Emily Sutton.

View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #138

  1. lindabaie

    September 21, 2016 at 9:16 am

    Thanks for the Douglas book, and by Walter Dean Myers. I agree, it is going to be a good one. I enjoyed Tiny Microbes very much, and learned a lot from it! I need to get to Esquivel, too! Thanks, Earl.

     
  2. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    September 21, 2016 at 3:52 pm

    Such a great variety of picture book biographies! Frederick Douglass isn’t as well known outside of the United States, and to be honest I’ve learned a lot more about American history and historical figures through nonfiction picture books!

     
  3. Michele

    September 23, 2016 at 7:37 am

    I just noticed my library has Esquivel. I’m going to see if I can pick it up today. Interestingly enough it says it’s in the fiction section. Strange. I also really like Duncan Tonatiuh’s artwork. I also have his other new one on hold for me.

     

Leave a Reply

 
