RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #139

28 Sep

nfpb2016

I completed my goal to read 104 nonfiction picture books for 2016 with these books! Of course, I’ll continue to read more!

I Dissent: Ruth Bader Ginsburg Makes Her MarkI Dissent: Ruth Bader Ginsburg Makes Her Mark by Debbie Levy
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Great picture book biography about someone who I didn’t know much about until I became a fan of her outspokenness- and I admit the Saturday Night Live Kate McKinnon sketches. This tells the story of a girl who grew up disagreeing- not to be a contrarian but to challenge outdated ideas. As a woman, she still speaks her mind and gives voice to those who need it.

View all my reviews

The Marvelous Thing That Came from a Spring: The Accidental Invention of the Toy That Swept the NationThe Marvelous Thing That Came from a Spring: The Accidental Invention of the Toy That Swept the Nation by Gilbert Ford
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

With the biography of the creator of the Super Soaker earlier this year, and now this, I hope this is a new wave of telling the stories behind some of the more classic toys- even if the books aren’t technically a series. What I found intriguing about this picture book and the story was how the husband and wife worked as a team to make the slinky as popular as it was/is.

View all my reviews

 

4 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2016 #139

  1. lindabaie

    September 28, 2016 at 11:08 am

    I’ve been wanting to read The Ruth Bader Ginsberg adult bio, and this picture book looks good, too. And I will find the slinky book someday. I just gave the granddaughters slinkys for Christmas, still love them! Thanks, Earl!

     
  2. Michele

    September 28, 2016 at 11:35 am

    I just checked out I Dissent! Really loved the slinky book, artwork too!

     
  3. Annette Pimentel

    September 28, 2016 at 5:48 pm

    I just checked out I Dissent, too! But I hadn’t heard about the slinky book. Thanks for the recommendation.

     
  4. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    September 30, 2016 at 11:17 am

    To be honest, I don’t know nearly as much about Ruth Bader Ginsberg as I ought to – we don’t have a copy of this one at my library, but I’ve put in a request for purchase, so fingers crossed!

     

Leave a Reply

 
