RSS

#IMWAYR- December 18, 2016

18 Dec

I’m blogging again- and it involves lots of catching up!

This week, I posted:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating the nonfiction picture books I read since my hiatus. There are lots of good ones and I wish I could have spotlighted them better so please them out!

ShortShort by Holly Goldberg Sloan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I’m considering this the first must read middle grade novel of 2017. More accessible and just as good as Counting by 7’s, which I also loved. Maybe I just have an instant fondness for books with short people being part of musicals. Fans of Tim Federle’s Nate books will enjoy this.
View all my reviews

A Child's Christmas in WalesA Child’s Christmas in Wales by Dylan Thomas
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A current festive read of the day was Dylan Thomas’s A Child’s Christmas in Wales. A very lyrical, inviting tale of the holidays that will make for a great read aloud. Chris Raschka’s fluid illustrations goes well with the flowing text. I also had a copy that had wood engravings by Fritz Eichenberg. What’s a Christmas book that you would recommend?
View all my reviews

The Friend ShipThe Friend Ship by Kat Yeh
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Sweet super cute story perfect for read-aloud. A lonely hedgehog overhears something about a Friend Ship and ends up going on a quest to find it for herself. Along the way, other animals join her in her adventure.
View all my reviews

Giving Thanks: More than 100 ways to say thank youGiving Thanks: More than 100 ways to say thank you by Ellen Surrey
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
This is a great book to reflect on things we’re thankful for or to help jump start the conversations of gratitude. And, maybe get inspired to do your own acts of kindness!
View all my reviews

Gertie's Leap to GreatnessGertie’s Leap to Greatness by Kate Beasley
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I felt I had to read this novel since lots of people raved about it. I wasn’t particularly taken with it though. Fans of Beverly Cleary’s Ramona Quimby will enjoy Gertie’s personality. The writing style is reminiscent of Kate DiCamillo’s Raymie Nightingale.
View all my reviews

Rescue on the Oregon Trail (Ranger in Time, #1)Rescue on the Oregon Trail by Kate Messner
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I thought this was going to be a hokey book but, after having to read it for work, I actually found it quite enjoyable. I can see it being action-filled enough to capture a reader’s attention. It also provides historical facts as part of the story. Great to entice readers to know more about the Oregon Trail.
View all my reviews

The Princess in Black Takes a VacationThe Princess in Black Takes a Vacation by Shannon Hale
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
After a somewhat lackluster entry in the series with The Princess in Black and the Hungry Bunny Horde, this latest adventure is a return to what made the books so fun to read in the first place with the added bonus of being familiar with the characters and their backstories. Even taking up the mysterious Goat Avenger’s offer to keep the kingdom safe as she goes on vacation, Princess Magnolia soon learns there’s no R&R for superheroes!
View all my reviews

When Breath Becomes AirWhen Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
When I’d ask people what they’d read recently that they’d recommend, this was one I heard often about. I would’ve waited to add this on my TBR list but I saw a copy of it at the library and looked like a quick read. This memoir focused on the life of a neurosurgeon diagnosed with lung cancer. His struggle to find meaning with his mortality is written in an engaging almost poetic way that doesn’t seem sappy.
View all my reviews

The Well of Being: A Children's Book for AdultsThe Well of Being: A Children’s Book for Adults by Jean-Pierre Weill
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A beautiful book that caught my eye as I browsing the shelves of a bookstore. (And I admit, the tagline “a children’s book for adults” caught my eye- which as a children’s bookseller who is amazed by the quality and depth of lots of picture books out there. It annoyed me a bit, almost as much as the trend of adult coloring books.) With that rant aside, this book focuses on learning to be one with self. Everyone will get something different out of this book.

I appreciated the end notes and attributes at the end of the story and also includes a few blank pages designated for the reader’s thoughts.

I was really taken by the line: I believe evolution to be based on love.
View all my reviews

Little Grey Cells: The Quotable PoirotLittle Grey Cells: The Quotable Poirot by Agatha Christie
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A collection of quotes by my favorite detective of all time- Hercule Poirot.
View all my reviews

mustreadin2016challenge


[Off the Shelf Reading Challenge][Agatha Christie Reading Challenge]

Hercule Poirot's Christmas (Hercule Poirot, #20)Hercule Poirot’s Christmas by Agatha Christie
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I didn’t really like this one. Maybe it was because I remembered who the murderer was so the clues seemed heavy handed. Plus this edition needed better editing which bothered me. Still brilliant, though.
View all my reviews

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original ScreenplayFantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay by J.K. Rowling
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Even though I feel burnt out with all the Harry Potter releases this year, I decided to read this because I’ve read all the other books so why not? While I appreciated the illustrations, I wish they would have released a bare bones screenplay as well. This is definitely a more difficult read than Cursed Child because of its technicalities. Fortunately, a glossary of these terms is included in the back. I actually enjoyed the screenplay but have no desire to see a film- although I know I will eventually.
View all my reviews

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

12 responses to “#IMWAYR- December 18, 2016

  1. Poem Fanatic

    December 18, 2016 at 9:23 pm

    I’ve read Poirot’s Christmas. It certainly was a different way of approaching a crime novel!

     
  2. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    December 18, 2016 at 9:36 pm

    So many 4 out of 5 stars, Earl!!! It was a good reading week 🙂
    I definitely have Fantastic Beasts to read, but I am not sure when I’ll get to it because I am focusing on a couple other goals right now. Gertie is in our Mock Newbery pile, so I hope to read it, and Short is one I cannot wait to read.

    Happy reading this week 🙂

     
  3. msyingling

    December 19, 2016 at 3:00 am

    I liked Short more than I thought I would, but wanted to slap Gertie. I don’t find badly behaved children to be particularly charming. Argh! It’s even snowing on your web site! My walk in this morning was a bit treacherous!

     
  4. Michele

    December 19, 2016 at 7:04 am

    Welcome back! I loved Short 🙂 There were so many lines I had to laugh and share.
    It seems like you either love Gertie or feel pretty indifferent to her. I loved her, but know many people who didn’t.

     
  5. cweichel

    December 19, 2016 at 8:58 am

    I am really looking forwRd to Short. Our library has it on order. It will probably make it onto my must read list next year. My favourite Christmas book is The Cat on the Dovrefell translated and by George Webbe Dasent and illustrated by Tomie dePaola. I’ve been looking for a copy for myself but it is out of print.

     
  6. TeachersforTeachers (@ClareandTammy)

    December 19, 2016 at 3:10 pm

    So glad you are back to blogging. We loved Gertie’s Leap to Greatness and agree that Beverly Cleary fans will love it. When Breath Becomes Air was also powerful. Your description is perfect, “His struggle to find meaning with his mortality is written in an engaging almost poetic way that doesn’t seem sappy.”

     
  7. Jana Eschner (@JanaTheTeacher)

    December 19, 2016 at 3:25 pm

    Great list this week! I need to get Short and read it, for sure. So many books to read, and Winter Break won’t be nearly long enough!

     
  8. Lisa Maucione (@DrLMaucione)

    December 19, 2016 at 4:09 pm

    I really want to read Short. I loved Gertie, but that could be partly because I was a huge Ramona Quimby fan as a child
    .

     
  9. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    December 19, 2016 at 6:10 pm

    Welcome back!! The Friend Ship looks beyond adorable, and I have such a soft spot for hedgehogs. 🙂

     
  10. Ricki Ginsberg

    December 19, 2016 at 6:19 pm

    Your post just reminded me of all of the books I NEED to read! I have SHORT on my nightstand, and I am glad you liked it. I will have to get to it ASAP!

     
  11. crbrunelle

    December 19, 2016 at 8:34 pm

    I’m going to have to look for Giving Thanks and Short (I’ve been called that a time or two thousand).

     
  12. Myra GB

    December 22, 2016 at 11:09 pm

    Merry Christmas, dear Earl! I just received my copy of The Well of Being and I really look forward to reading it. Perhaps when I get home tonight.

     

Leave a Reply

 
