RSS

#IMWAYR- December 25, 2016

25 Dec

First of all, Happy Holidays!

This week, I posted:

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating festive moments!

The Neverending StoryThe Neverending Story by Michael Ende

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was immediately drawn into this story within a story. (I recommend getting an edition where they use different colored fonts depending on which world you’re in- the real world or in Fantastica.) I could have done with a shorter second half but who hasn’t ever wanted to enter a storyland?

A must have for every true Reader. Great as a read-aloud and one definitely worth rereading as an adult.

View all my reviews

The GalleryThe Gallery by Laura Marx Fitzgerald

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I had high hopes for this one since I loved her first novel, Under the Egg. This one also centers around art but this time during the Roaring Twenties. The set up and the characters were so promising but the ending felt like such a let down.

View all my reviews

Into the Lion's Den (Devlin Quick, #1)Into the Lion’s Den by Linda Fairstein

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

One of the most engaging and exciting middle readers for me. Of course, having a mystery center around ripping a page out of a library book may not be everyone’s cup of tea but readers will enjoy these tween investigators as they find themselves in unexpected dangerous situations. I can’t wait for more books in this series!

View all my reviews

Fish GirlFish Girl by Donna Jo Napoli

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I love David Wiesner’s illustrations and, this story, being water-themed, reminds me of his incredible picture book Flotsam. I loved the story behind the story- that he had images but not an actual story to tie them all together. Hence, his partnership with Donna Jo Napoli. Together, they weave a tale of a mermaid trapped as a tourist attraction. What happens when she befriends a girl? How can she part of a world that was forbidden to her? This graphic novel would be perfect for fans of The Little Mermaid.

Available March 7, 2017.

View all my reviews

Written and Drawn by HenriettaWritten and Drawn by Henrietta by Liniers

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A cute early graphic novel reader about a girl writing and illustrating a story. Great to use in an elementary creative writing curriculum.

View all my reviews

The Man Who Fell in Love with the MoonThe Man Who Fell in Love with the Moon by Tom Spanbauer

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’d been wanting to read local (Portland) author Tom Spanbauer’s works for awhile now. And this was an interesting choice.

A wild western-ish tall tale with lots of soap opera moments and revelations. One of (if not) the most sexually explicit books I’ve ever read.

I was hoping to enjoy this more because the characters were surely very memorable and the situations they found themselves were real pageturners. But it also seemed too much.

View all my reviews

Review Notes
I’ve decided not to post reviews for books I didn’t particular care for (unless I feel strongly against it.) If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. Plus as an aspiring published writer myself, I know how much work one puts into a story so I naturally have great respect towards writers and illustrators and everyone else responsible for that creation.

***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

Advertisements
 

2 responses to “#IMWAYR- December 25, 2016

  1. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    December 26, 2016 at 6:06 am

    The Never-ending Story was one of my favorite movies growing up, but I’ve never read the book! I definitely need to get on that, it sounds wonderful.

     
  2. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    December 29, 2016 at 6:06 pm

    I haven’t read any of these, Earl! Though I got Into the Lion’s Den at NCTE, so I look forward to reading it 🙂
    Happy reading this week!

     

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: