RSS

Looking Forward

31 Dec

Stronger Together is my motto for 2017.

However horrible 2016 has been, I fear we are in for even darker times ahead. That’s not me being a pessimist or dramatic but what I think is bound to happen with what has happened and is happening. All actions have their consequences and we’re about to experience more of it. (To use another metaphor, if 2016 felt like a major earthquake, get ready for aftershocks.)

Never before have I felt a person with such power have what’s best for America and its people as the last thing on his mind, his least priority. When people are feeling like they somehow got trapped in a pro-Hitler amusement park, then something’s wrong. I take comfort in the fact that the majority of the people didn’t actually vote for him.

We have to stick together during these tough times, help each other out. Be the light to shine the way. Be the rock to lean on. We will be strong and resilient because we are strong and resilient. Let’s be stronger together.

Commitment to Literacy
I am rededicating myself to volunteering. I will do as much good as possible to as many people as possible.

Bookselling
I will continue being a passionate and dedicated bookseller. I strongly believe that the more books we read- and the more often- the smarter and kinder people become.

Blogging
Participate in
-Non-Fiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017 Goal: 104 books including MG and YA
-Must Read in 2017 #MustReadin2017

mustreadin2017

Reading
Read more books by Filipino, LGBTQ, and local (Portland/PNW) authors and illustrators- and showcase these books better!
Attend book clubs.

Writing
Find a critique group.
Send my manuscript(s) to an agent.
Work on completing rough drafts of at least three stories.
Share at least one original story on my blog.
Participate in StoryStorm.

storystorm

 

Leave a Reply

 
