RSS

#MustReadin2016: Final Update

31 Dec

mustreadin2016challenge

My Must Read list constantly changes throughout the year but for the most part the majority of the books stay the same. And I try to never make my goal count less than the original. Often I would replace a title I took out with one or two that were similar in format. For example, I didn’t really feel like reading Ron Chernow’s Alexander Hamilton after all- I got caught in the fad- and so I replaced it with The Emperor of All Maladies by Siddhartha Mukherjee.

Like Herman Melville’s Moby Dick of last year, there were books I started but couldn’t force myself to read for various reasons. I read the first part of Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury but maybe I just wasn’t in the mood for it. The Emperor of All Maladies was too painful to read subject-wise. Maybe I’ll pick it up again.

Also, I would end up wanting to read the entire works of certain authors and would them on my list- only to not be able to actually get to them. I added Matt de la Pena’s novels too late into the year to make a dent. And I’ve decided I may enjoy them more if I just randomly pick them up when my mood strikes me.

Click here to see my Must Read in 2016 list. (I have to do a better job updating the page with links once I post them!)

Agatha Christie Reading Challenge
I read the 15 novels for the year and most of them were rereads of my favorites!

Spooksville Reading Challenge

National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature/ Gene Luen Yang Avatar Reading Challenge

Everybody Reads Reading Challenge
This year’s selection was The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez.

Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales

Patricia Polacco Teacher Books

Doreen Rappaport Big Word Biographies

Non-Fiction Picture Book Challenge
I exceeded my goal of reading 104 NFPB’ers by 30 for a total of 134!

Books I Didn’t Finish
-Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
-The Martian by Andy Weir
-I Am Malala: Young Reader’s Edition by Malala Yousafzai, Patricia McCormick
-The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle

Books I Couldn’t Finish
-The Emperor of All Maladies by Siddhartha Mukherjee
-Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury

 

2 responses to “#MustReadin2016: Final Update

  1. carriegelson

    December 31, 2016 at 3:16 pm

    I too am a huge Matt de la Pena fan!

     
  2. cweichel

    January 1, 2017 at 1:51 pm

    I admit to going a bit crazy about adding books to my list and then realizing I won’t get to them. This year I managed to finish the books on my list, but I was more thoughtful about the list last year I think. Of course, being retired has also helped me find time to read more of these books to start with!

     

Leave a Reply

 
