RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- January 1, 2017

01 Jan

First of all, Happy New Year!

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday
Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating my favorite books of 2016!
Looking Back
#MustReadin2016: Final Update
Looking Forward

Blackbird FlyBlackbird Fly by Erin Entrada Kelly
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I’m always in search of Filipino voices, Filipino stories so I’m glad I found Blackbird Fly. I definitely could relate to Apple’s situation since I moved from the Philippines to the United States when I was young. I had the same problem of trying to fit in but not quite managing to.

Bullying is always difficult for me to read because it’s so common. And, while I wish that there were open communications between children and adults (whether parents or teachers) I know that’s not always the case.

I think kids will be able to sympathize and empathize as she deals with home and school problems. Readers will keep turning pages trying to see whether her situation improves.
View all my reviews

RefugeRefuge by Anne Booth
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I felt compelled to read Anne Booth’s picture book after attending Christmas Eve mass. I had gone to a new church. It was so welcoming and inclusive. The pastor managed to talk about current topics like LGBTQ issues, Black Lives Matter, Aleppo, Medicare, living wages, sanctuary places, and immigration while bringing it full circle to the birth of Christ and what Christmas is all about. He even quoted Lin-Manuel Miranda’s Tony speech and went on to say, “Love coupled with Action can bring about Change.” I was moved because I hadn’t really felt myself as part of the story- everything was all historical and lessons were all from past experiences.

Refuge likened the Christmas story to that of modern day refuge experiences. Joseph, Mary and Jesus had to flee their country and sought safety and sanctuary elsewhere- relying on the kindness of strangers to get by and survive. I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately and I hope we can all create safe spaces to those in need.
View all my reviews

Further Tales of the City (Tales of the City, #3)Further Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Apparently I’ve been reading one Armistead Maupin Tales of the City novel a year. I find myself completely engrossed in them every time I pick one up but I haven’t had a desire to binge read them. Book three in the series brings back the characters readers have grown to love and putting them into even more ridiculously good situations. (Depending on which edition you read, the publisher-provided summary is too spoilery considering some of the thing it mentions doesn’t happen until much later in the book.) There was hardly a chapter I didn’t at least laugh out loud or shake my head in disbelief at what was happening.
View all my reviews

The Laramie ProjectThe Laramie Project by Moisés Kaufman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I had heard about this play while reading LGBT History for Kids. Very moving. And, artistically, such an ingenious way to tell a story.
View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- January 1, 2017

  1. cweichel

    January 1, 2017 at 9:02 pm

    I also loved Blackbird Fly. It was a delight to hand it off to Filipino students at our school. They were always happy to see themselves represented in a book.

     
  2. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    January 2, 2017 at 12:02 am

    That sounds like an incredible sermon. I left my childhood church because I no longer felt like I could reconcile my own beliefs and lifestyle with the kind of reality they were preaching. To feel included, respected and valued means so much, and I’d like to think that Jesus would share the same values of love, empathy and compassion.

     
  3. lindabaie

    January 2, 2017 at 7:00 am

    I loved hearing your talk about this new church you found, Earl. The book Refuge sounds lovely, too. I’ve forgotten about Blackbird Fly. It was on my list, but now will look for it! Happy New Year!

     
  4. Elisabeth Ellington

    January 2, 2017 at 8:50 am

    Now I really want to read Blackbird Fly! Adding it to the list…. Wow, if church could always be like that, even I would go. (I live in South Dakota, so I’m pretty sure I won’t be finding a church like that anytime soon, LOL.) I binged the Tales of the City series when I was 16 or 17–adored those novels so much. I can’t even imagine now how I stumbled across them but glad I did.

     
  5. Michele

    January 2, 2017 at 12:21 pm

    Erin Entrada Kelly seems to be an author that I’m hearing about a lot lately. I have an ARC of her book that releases, I think, this March. She sounds like a welcome voice.

     
  6. vgpratt

    January 2, 2017 at 5:20 pm

    Earl, your description of the Christmas Eve mass experience and the segue into the book Refuge was almost like church for me! I really need to pick up this book. I don’t want to get into political banter, but I really struggle with intelligent people who say they believe certain things, and then act completely differently in their own everyday lives. Thanks for sharing this with us!

     
  7. Ricki Ginsberg

    January 2, 2017 at 7:09 pm

    I saw The Laramie Project last year and was very moved! I am glad you enjoyed it.
    Happy New Year!

     
  8. Myra GB

    January 3, 2017 at 2:28 am

    I borrowed Blackbird Fly from the library but was not able to read it. I would encourage you to read Land of Forgotten Girls also written by the same author – really good too. Just borrowed Refuge from the library just now based on your recommendation.

     

Leave a Reply

 
