RSS

Must Read in 2017 #MustReadin2017

05 Jan

mustreadin2017

[Agatha Christie]
Murder is Easy
-And Then There Were None
-The Regatta Mystery and Other Stories
-Sad Cypress
-One, Two, Buckle My Shoe
-Evil Under the Sun
-N or M?
-The Body in the Library
-Five Little Pigs
-The Moving Finger
-Towards Zero
-Death Comes at the End
-Sparkling Cyanide

[Everybody Reads]
-Evicted by Matthew Desmond

[Gene Luen Yang]
-Avatar: North and South Part 1
-Avatar: North and South Part 2 (2/7/2017)
-Avatar: North and South Part 3 (5/9/2017)
Secrets & Sequences (Secret Coders) (3/7/2017)
-Robots & Repeats (Secret Coders) (10/3/2017)

[Nathan Hale]
-Rapunzel’s Revenge
-Calamity Jane
One Trick Pony (3/14/2017)

[Kwame Alexander]
Flying Lessons (1/3/2017)
Animal Ark: Celebrating Our Wild World in Poetry and Pictures (2/14/2017)
The Playbook: 52 Rules to Aim, Shoot, and Score in This Game Called Life (2/14/2017)
-Out of Wonder: Poems Celebrating Poets (3/14/2017)
-Solo (7/25/2017)

[Leo Lionni]
-Little Blue and Little Yellow
-Frederick
-Alexander and the Wind-Up Mouse
-Swimmy

[Sequels & Follow Ups]
-Books for Living by Will Schwalbe
-Scar Island Dan Gemeinhart (1/3)
A Puzzle to Be Named Later by Parnell Hall (1/17)
-The Terrible Two Go Wild (2/14)
Hilo Book 3: The Great Big Boom (2/21)
Payback (Masterminds) by Gordon Korman (3/7)
-The Unbreakable Code by Jennifer Chambliss Bertman (4/25)
-Timmy Failure: The Cat Stole My Pants (4/25)
-Comics Squad #3: Detention! by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm (7/4)
-The Dire King by William Ritter (8/22)
-Mighty Jack and the Goblin King by Ben Hatke(9/5)
-Origin Dan Brown (9/26)

-Moomintroll by Tove Jansson
-Hook’s Revenge #2 by Heidi Schulz
-Esperanza Rising by Pam Munoz Ryan
-The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jaqueline Kelly
-The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain
-The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
-Walden by Henry David Thoreau
-One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
-Wild Things! Acts of Mischief in Children’s Literature by Elizabeth Bird, Julie Danielson, and Peter Sieruta
-Babycakes by Armistead Maupin
-And the Band Played On by Randy Shilts
Queer: A Graphic History by Meg John Barker
Love Is Love: a comic book anthology to benefit the survivors of the Orlando Pulse shooting by Marc Andreyko
-Maus by Art Spiegelman
-It by Stephen King
-On Writing by Stephen King
-I Am Malala- Young Reader’s Edition
-The Arabian Nights
-Moonglow by Michael Chabon
-Commonwealth by Ann Patchett

 

5 responses to “Must Read in 2017 #MustReadin2017

  1. lindabaie

    January 5, 2017 at 7:35 pm

    I don’t have it on my list but want to read Books for Living, too,Earl. It sounds very good. Read Christie’s AndThen There Were None soon, one of my favorites! Thanks. Your list covers such a wide range. I have bookmarked it to return.

     
  2. cweichel

    January 6, 2017 at 10:46 am

    This is an impressive list Earl! We are looking forward to many of the same books this year. Ann Patchett is an author I want to read more of too. Everything I have read so far has wowed me. I even have a few unread books of hers on my shelf that I just need to find time for!

     
  3. Akilah

    January 6, 2017 at 1:50 pm

    On Writing is amazing as is Maus. I really enjoyed Rapunzel’s Revenge and Calamity Jack. I hope you do, too.

     
  4. aaroncleaveley

    January 6, 2017 at 8:51 pm

    Great list, I am also looking forward to Scar Island, and although I didn’t include it, HiLo and Masterminds will hopefully find the way to my reading list. I really liked the Nathan Hale titles and I hope you do as well. Happy reading!

     
  5. carriegelson

    January 7, 2017 at 4:28 pm

    A really great list. The 3rd Hilo is going to cause major “I get it first” wars in my room! Can’t wait to read Scar Island.

     

Leave a Reply

 
