RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- January 8, 2017

08 Jan

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– I invite any of you who already read nonfiction picture books- or want to challenge themselves to read more- to participate in this community! Encourage yourself- and others, especially kids- to read more biographies in 2017! Get inspired with their stories. Think about your own narrative and the impact you can have on people and the world.
Must Read in 2017– Which books by Michael Chabon and Ann Patchett should I read? What #mglit sequels should I add?
-Celebrate This Week- This week, I’m celebrating celebrations.

Wolf in the SnowWolf in the Snow by Matthew Cordell
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A warm comforting read perfect for a snuggly story time these cold winter nights!

In two parallel stories involving a girl and wolf cub, they get separated from their tribes and find one another during a snow storm. A friendship is formed and acts of kindness are received and given in this sweet picture book.
View all my reviews

Be Boy BuzzBe Boy Buzz by bell hooks
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
With bell hook’s lyrical text and Chris Raschka’s fluid illustrations, boyhood is celebrated from the loud and active moments to the quiet and still times and everything in between
View all my reviews

Happy to Be Nappy (Board Book) Happy to Be NappyHappy to Be Nappy (Board Book) Happy to Be Nappy by bell hooks
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
With bell hook’s lyrical text and Chris Raschka’s fluid illustrations, an exuberant African American girl celebrates her hair.
View all my reviews

Love from The Very Hungry CaterpillarLove from The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Sweet book for Eric Carle and the Very Hungry Caterpillar fans.
View all my reviews

A Greyhound, a GroundhogA Greyhound, a Groundhog by Emily Jenkins
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
Cute illustrations. Maybe I actually need to hear this being read aloud and to see people’s reactions to it for me to have any kind of reaction to it.
View all my reviews

All Creatures Great and SmallAll Creatures Great and Small by Naoko Stoop
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I enjoy Naoko Stoop’s illustrations. This makes for a great gift for people who love this religious hymn.
View all my reviews

Love Is Patient, Love Is KindLove Is Patient, Love Is Kind by Naoko Stoop
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I enjoy Naoko Stoop’s illustrations. And this is one of my favorite quotes. Usually recited during weddings, this version makes it focus on friendship.
View all my reviews

Love Is Patient, Love Is KindLove Is Patient, Love Is Kind by Naoko Stoop
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I enjoy Naoko Stoop’s illustrations. And this is one of my favorite quotes. Usually recited during weddings, this version makes it focus on friendship.
View all my reviews

The Owl and the Pussy-catThe Owl and the Pussy-cat by Edward Lear
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
I guess I was going to end up reading this beloved poem eventually. My only other exposure to it besides seeing the different versions at bookstores and libraries was that there seems to be lots of YouTube videos of young kids reciting it from memory. I can’t say I was particularly fond of this.
View all my reviews

The Further Adventures of the Owl and the Pussy-catThe Further Adventures of the Owl and the Pussy-cat by Julia Donaldson
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
I thought this was a new release which made me read it and the original in the first place. But because I didn’t like the original, I also didn’t like this one. Unnecessary sequels always make me sad.
View all my reviews

The Sweetest SoundThe Sweetest Sound by Sherri Winston
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Book lover Cadence Jolly has the gift of song but doesn’t let anyone hear her because she has a fear of speaking (or singing) in front of people. But an internet video of her singing has gone viral and makes her question whether she’s ready to step into the spotlight or not.

I happened upon this book by chance and immediately felt like a book I should be reading because the character’s middle name is Mariah, after the best singer in the world, and who’s the inspiration not only to the main character and the author but as well as this reader!

Each chapter is named after a Mariah Carey song so it would be a great playlist to listen to while reading the book.

An interesting depiction of a small town and a church community and complicated family dynamics.
View all my reviews

The Laramie Project: Ten Years LaterThe Laramie Project: Ten Years Later by Moisés Kaufman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I really enjoyed this epilogue to the original play because it felt more like a psychological study of a town. It felt timely how people want to move on from a horrific situation (which is understandable, of course, but it also tends to make them forget and repeat their mistakes) or how certain people will try to rationalize or normalize their horrific actions.
View all my reviews

mustreadin2017

Murder is EasyMurder is Easy by Agatha Christie
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This was more 2.5 stars.

Even though I was wrong about who the murderer was, I still felt it was predictable. The red herrings were obviously red herrings. The main character wasn’t likable and not very smart- and not in an endearing way.

And, I can’t stand anything were relationships are so fragile that people are willing to cheat all for the name of “love.”
View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- January 8, 2017

  1. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    January 8, 2017 at 11:21 pm

    I really need to get back into Nonfiction Wednesday this year, sadly it kind of fell to the wayside for me towards the end of the year. 😥

    I remember hearing The Owl and the Pussycat as a child, but I can’t remember much of it, other than they went to sea, and I think the sea was pea green or pea soup green? Hmmm…Guess it didn’t leave that much of an impression on me!

     
  2. Myra GB

    January 9, 2017 at 1:12 am

    I love how you continue sharing Agatha Christie novels – are you on a mission to read all of her novels?? 🙂 I really enjoyed the Bell Hooks’ picture books – read them while I was in the library in Munich.

     
  3. cweichel

    January 9, 2017 at 12:02 pm

    Hi Earl, The sweetest sound has been added to my want to relist. After reading about this Laramie Project book I went back to remind myself about it. I’ve never seen the original play, but it seems like an important piece to revisit, given the political climate in America today.
    I’ve been watching Partners in Crime on crave TV and remembering how much I loved reading Agatha Christie when I was younger.

     
  4. Ricki Ginsberg

    January 9, 2017 at 2:09 pm

    I haven’t seen Happy to Be Nappy, so thanks for introducing it. I am intrigued.

     

Leave a Reply

 
