RSS

#CelebrateLU- January 13, 2017

13 Jan
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating Martin Luther King, Jr.

Martin Luther King, Jr. stands for so many things to so many people- kindness, compassion, equality, love, peace, change, and community just to name a few.

I wanted to spotlight some books about this great human being.

Love Will See You Through: Martin Luther King Jr.'s Six Guiding Beliefs (as told by his niece)Love Will See You Through: Martin Luther King Jr.’s Six Guiding Beliefs by Angela Farris Watkins
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Angela Farris Watkins shares her uncle’s guiding principles with accompanying moments showcasing each one. A good leader is made even greater by being a living example of his beliefs. This beautiful (both in message and style) picture book does just that. Great for early elementary and younger to learn about a man who wanted to change the world through love and peaceful protests.
View all my reviews

Who Was Martin Luther King, Jr.?Who Was Martin Luther King, Jr.? by Bonnie Bader
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
The Who Was/Is…? series continues to impress me with their accessible and informative biographies.

After recently reading multiple books about Martin Luther King, Jr., I never realized how much he fought against hate and injustice through love and nonviolence. That’s quite a feat and very admirable.

With the current chaos that’s happening, I also see how valuable it is to look into the past of how change can be done successfully. His actions and his words are inspiring but we are still very far from making his dream a reality.
View all my reviews

Martin's Big Words: The Life of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.Martin’s Big Words: The Life of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. by Doreen Rappaport
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Moments in MLK Jr.’s life are paired with big words that helped shape his beliefs and that he shared with others. Beautiful collage illustrations add to the appeal of this picture book as well as insightful author and illustrator’s notes and a brief timeline. While not comprehensive, this definitely is a must-have.
View all my reviews

I am Martin Luther King, Jr.I am Martin Luther King, Jr. by Brad Meltzer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Ordinary People Change World is a new biographical picture book series from Brad Meltzer, best known as a bestselling author of adult thrillers. Positive and inspiring for preschoolers. Christopher Eliopoulos’ cute illustrations just add another layer of appeal!

As the series progresses, I think the books just become better. Even when reading about someone familiar (Martin Luther King, Jr.), I learned something new and can’t help but being amazed by the person I’m reading about. And, when I’m reading about someone new (Helen Keller), I want to learn more.
View all my reviews

Martin Luther King and The Montgomery StoryMartin Luther King and The Montgomery Story by Fellowship of Reconciliation
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I was thrilled to find a copy of this comic online after hearing about it as being an inspiration to tell John Lewis’s graphic novel memoir trilogy March. I loved that it makes what they’re doing- and why- accessible to readers especially to a young audience.
View all my reviews

What Was the March on Washington?What Was the March on Washington? by Kathleen Krull
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
An absolutely inspiring read that’s a must-have for any library.

It introduces readers to this important event in American history and human decency. What I appreciated was that it went into detail about the actual program and some of the speeches that were made.

Again, certain figures were mentioned like Bayard Rustin and A. Philip Randolph, who I want to read more about.
View all my reviews

Martin & Mahalia: His Words, Her SongMartin & Mahalia: His Words, Her Song by Andrea Davis Pinkney
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Talk about the power of words! Whether sung or spoken, the right words can inspire us to do great things. This was a great mash-up of two people who worked towards a more united world until their dying days. Biographies and a timeline follows. Brian Pinkney also shares his motivation and approaches with the book’s illustrations.
View all my reviews

I Have a DreamI Have a Dream by Martin Luther King Jr.
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
It’s been awhile since I read his famous “I Have a Dream” speech in its entirety. It’s as moving and powerful now as ever before. This book with Kadir Nelson’s lush illustrations is a great example of how picture books are sometimes works of art.
View all my reviews

As Good as AnybodyAs Good as Anybody by Richard Michelson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
There have been lots of picture books about Martin Luther King, Jr. and I enjoyed this one because it featured another important person who fought for human rights. They lead different lives but marched together to battle injustice for all. I love Raul Colon’s illustrations.
View all my reviews

Of course, I have to include March on this list.

Read my reviews of these graphic novels here.

I’m glad that people can celebrate his legacy not only through having a day off but using that time to volunteer. MLK, Jr. Day has also become a Day of Service to many communities. Sometimes, that day becomes the whole weekend.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

Tags:

10 responses to “#CelebrateLU- January 13, 2017

  1. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    January 14, 2017 at 3:12 am

    The illustrated version of I Have a Dream looks absolutely fantastic. So inspiring. Thank you for sharing these.

     
  2. Maria

    January 14, 2017 at 6:27 am

    Thank you for sharing so many different books. I spent this week reading NF picture books about African Americans who accomplished their goals and showed young learners never give up. Their favorites were A Splash of Red and Wooosh!!

     
  3. Ramona

    January 14, 2017 at 6:59 am

    There are some new titles here for me to explore. My favorite: Nadir Nelson’s illustrated I Have a Dream. Thanks for sharing this list.

     
  4. Leigh Anne

    January 14, 2017 at 7:02 am

    I have to agree with Ramona – that one is my favorite! Great collection here.

     
  5. lindabaie

    January 14, 2017 at 8:06 am

    Martin is on the New Yorker cover this week, and so I had a great time with my oldest granddaughter telling about him and why we celebrate him this Monday. Love this list, Earl. I know just a few, so thanks!

     
  6. Tara Smith

    January 14, 2017 at 11:50 am

    Fabulous books. John Lewis’ books are a personal favorite – he is right up there in my pantheon of great human beings.

     
  7. newtreemom

    January 14, 2017 at 1:31 pm

    Martin’s Big Words is my favorite. I have shared it with many classes. Thanks for a great list of books.

     
  8. Lisa Keeler

    January 15, 2017 at 5:13 am

    What a wonderful list! Thank you for sharing.

     
  9. Terje

    January 15, 2017 at 9:05 am

    What a readerly way to celebrate a person with the list of books. Clicking: like.

     
  10. crbrunelle

    January 15, 2017 at 5:04 pm

    Excellent collection! Thanks for highlighting so many. I love the March trilogy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
