RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- January 22, 2017

22 Jan

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews celebrating Jim Henson.

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating you and your power to do good.

A Piece of HomeA Piece of Home by Jeri Watts
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
An ordinary boy in Korea finds himself struggling in his new home in the United States. What I appreciated about this picture book that it tackled how his younger sister was adjusting (in this case, not adjusting) to their new lives. Their grandma, at least, is there to help her even though she’s struggling herself. But who’s there to help him? A great story for anyone with students trying to fit in.
View all my reviews

Molly and Pim and the Millions of StarsMolly and Pim and the Millions of Stars by Martine Murray
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I had no desire of reading this but I’m so glad I did. It was immediately engaging. This would make for a great read-aloud reminiscent of The Secret Garden. It celebrates family, friendship, and individuality.

Molly’s mother has accidentally turned herself into a tree. She feels she can’t turn to her best friend for help because she’s too practical and might not believe Molly. The only person she can turn to seems to be the odd boy in school- Pim. Together, they’ll have to find the right magic to make turn everything back to normal. But is normal something Molly wants?

Nature and pet lovers will enjoy this whimsical tale from Australia!
View all my reviews

Bera the One-Headed TrollBera the One-Headed Troll by Eric Orchard
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Fans of Luke Pearson’s Hilda series will enjoy Bera’s adventures. This unlikely heroine suddenly finds herself in charge of a human baby. Full of folklore, Eric Orchard created a rich fantastic world that readers will want to visit again and again. I enjoyed the darker overtones. The art is so lush.
View all my reviews

Princess Princess Ever AfterPrincess Princess Ever After by Katie O’Neill
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Honestly, I thought this was going to be hokey. But the story was intriguing and the relationship between the two characters was organic. It didn’t seem forced. I would love to read more of their adventures. A fun graphic novel adventure that celebrates individuality.
View all my reviews

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry (Harold Fry, #1)The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I read this for a book club that didn’t happen because of the crazy weather we’ve been having. It reminded me a bit of Forrest Gump but with walking instead of running.

A retired man decides to walk up the UK to visit a friend he hasn’t seen in decades. It triggers memories from his childhood and his failing marriage. As readers accompanying him, we learn more about what prompts him to go on this uncharacteristic trek. We meet the various people he meets along the way.

While at times frustrating, the story manages to squeeze in some surprises. While reading this, I couldn’t help but wonder what would I be willing to walk for?
View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- January 22, 2017

  1. cweichel

    January 22, 2017 at 11:19 pm

    Isn’t Bera delightful? I loved that book. Molly and Pim and A Piece of Home look like they will be good reads too.

     
  2. lindabaie

    January 23, 2017 at 7:36 am

    The Molly and Pim book sounds fun, Earl. What a premise! And I enjoyed Harold Fry’s walk, much to consider there. And I loved A Piece of Home. Thanks for all!

     
  3. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    January 23, 2017 at 10:24 am

    Princess Princess is new to me, but I’m always looking for princess stories that are fresh and not so hokey!

     
  4. Michele

    January 23, 2017 at 4:50 pm

    I picked up Molly and Pim at the library. Your review has me excited to read it!

     
  5. Fats Suela

    January 23, 2017 at 5:15 pm

    I’m adding Molly and Pim to my to-read list! Thanks for sharing that today!

     
  6. TeachersforTeachers (@ClareandTammy)

    January 23, 2017 at 6:07 pm

    Thanks for telling us about Princess Princess Ever After – We are always looking for new versions of fairy tales and students love graphic novels.

     
  7. Myra GB

    January 24, 2017 at 9:38 pm

    I have just placed A Piece Of Home in my to-read/to-find list in Goodreads. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
