RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- January 25, 2017

25 Jan

nfpb2017

Continuing the post (updated to include one title I forgot) where I shared books about Martin Luther King, Jr. and to commemorate the Women’s March of this past weekend, I am sharing some more books that I hope will inspire everyone- even the youngest readers- to fight for what’s right.

Martin's Dream DayMartin’s Dream Day by Kitty Kelley

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Biographer Kitty Kelley offers background information on the March on Washington with a focus on Martin Luther King, Jr.’s speech. What makes this unique from other picture books is that it uses Stanley Tretick’s photographs of that iconic day.

View all my reviews

The Youngest Marcher: The Story of Audrey Faye Hendricks, a Young Civil Rights ActivistThe Youngest Marcher: The Story of Audrey Faye Hendricks, a Young Civil Rights Activist by Cynthia Levinson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This timely read has been on my radar for awhile so I’m glad I got to read it. I hope it inspires kids to stand up and act for what they believe in.

View all my reviews

The First Step: How One Girl Put Segregation on TrialThe First Step: How One Girl Put Segregation on Trial by Susan E. Goodman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a great read because not only did it bring up a point in history I didn’t know about (this battle for integration taking place even before the Civil War) but it helped me put things in perspective of how progress is a long difficult road but the important thing is we take the first steps. Lots of additional info are included in the back matter.

View all my reviews

We MarchWe March by Shane W. Evans

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I enjoyed this beautifully illustrated picture book for young readers. Taking on the March on Washington, the simple text focuses more on the acts of getting ready rather than provide facts or background information.

View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- January 25, 2017

  1. lindabaie

    January 25, 2017 at 12:05 pm

    I enjoyed The First Step a lot, and was surprised about Boston’s de-segregation happening so early. Thanks for sharing the Shane Evans book, We March. It sounds just right fort he granddaughters!

     
  2. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    January 25, 2017 at 12:35 pm

    The First Step was a real eye-opener for me, too. As you say, the struggle as been a long and winding road.

     
  3. Michele

    January 25, 2017 at 4:19 pm

    I already added The Youngest Marcher to my Mock Sibert list for next year. It’s a story that should be read by many young readers!

     

Leave a Reply

 
