RSS

#CelebrateLU- January 27, 2017

27 Jan
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating bookish and writerly moments.

First off, before my volunteer shift at the library last Thursday, I was leisurely walking around town because most of the snow had melted off. I’d never been so happy to see sidewalk! Anyway, I came across a new bookstore. It was actually just a new location but I hadn’t been to this one yet- let alone even knew it was there.

micro

The next day, I decided to check out a coffee shop that was dubbed one of “the best places to write in Portland” by a local weekly. It definitely had a great vibe for getting your creative juices flowing! Of course, caffeine always helps!

yeti3

This past weekend, we had a Yeti Snow Party at work. We even had a special guest- the Bumble! My co-worker who donned the costume was very touchy feely!

And, of course, the Youth Media Awards were announced earlier this week. I was surprised this was the first year in quite awhile I hadn’t read any of the Newbery titles. I was pleased that Portland was represented with honors for Carson Ellis’ Du Iz Tak? and Vera Brosgol’s Leave Me Alone! I was ecstatic every time March won an award!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

3 responses to “#CelebrateLU- January 27, 2017

  1. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    January 29, 2017 at 11:44 am

    I haven’t been to Portland in ages, and I really miss it! All those amazing coffee shops and bookstores – such an inspiring environment for a writer!

     
  2. Ramona

    January 29, 2017 at 8:17 pm

    Wonderful celebrations this week. Nothing beats discovering a new bookstore. And the pics of you with the Bumble are so fun.

     
  3. cvarsalona

    January 30, 2017 at 5:17 am

    Great celebrations, Earl. Enjoy life this week!

     

Leave a Reply

 
