RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- January 29, 2017

29 Jan

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for more books dealing with activism.

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating bookish and writerly moments.

Dill & Bizzy: Opposite DayDill & Bizzy: Opposite Day by Nora Ericson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Maybe because I knew these characters now, I liked this more than the first book in this series. Fun and playful, this should be a hit during storytimes. Classrooms may enjoy having their own Opposite Day!
View all my reviews

Hug It Out!Hug It Out! by Louis Thomas
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A silly tale of sibling rivalry fun for group read-alouds. At first, I thought the punishment was the mom would tie their hair together but it’s actually quite nicer than that and something that we could all use to solve our problems.
View all my reviews

A Family Is a Family Is a FamilyA Family Is a Family Is a Family by Sara O’Leary
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I’d been meaning to read this for awhile based on other bloggers raving about it. And it didn’t disappoint. I loved the various depictions of different kinds of families without things being too preachy. It’s just a celebration!
View all my reviews

NopeNope by Drew Sheneman
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Cute picture book about facing your fears.

When you think “Nope, you can’t do it.” think “Knope because she does things!” (That’s my attempt to include a Parks & Rec reference for no absolute reason.)
View all my reviews

North, South, East, WestNorth, South, East, West by Margaret Wise Brown
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
After reading this, I realized I may not be a fan of Margaret Wise Brown. Greg Pizzoli’s illustrations are adorable.
View all my reviews

Compass South (Four Points #1)Compass South by Hope Larson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
There’s plenty of action and adventure in this first title of a new graphic novel series that will get readers hooked- a gang of thieves, pirates, a hunt for treasure, and some jungle danger. But I felt the story- and the illustrations- was trying to do too much.

And, I would say this wins the award for most redheaded characters!
View all my reviews

The Nameless CityThe Nameless City by Faith Erin Hicks
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I admit I didn’t want to read this because I wasn’t a fan of the illustrations. But once I got reading, I was actually hooked. An unlikely friendship is formed between a boy of the recent conquering tribe and a native girl of the Nameless City. They discover the walls around them put on by society due to their different status. They also discover the walls around their city may not be as strong as people think when invasions are expected to happen at any time- and sometimes from inside their very own government. I can’t wait for the next book in the series!
View all my reviews

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 5: Super FamousMs. Marvel, Vol. 5: Super Famous by G. Willow Wilson
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
I appreciated the diversity but somehow it felt forced. Even though this was a later installment in an ongoing series, it can be read as a stand alone- although there were some plot points slightly confusing but I didn’t care too much to figure out why.
View all my reviews

Dare to Disappoint: Growing Up in TurkeyDare to Disappoint: Growing Up in Turkey by Ozge Samanci
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
An interesting memoir of growing up in Turkey and wanting to please her parents while trying to figure out what it is she wants to do. The look into how the educational system was set up was fascinating, kind of similar to how it is in the Philippines where I grew up. And, of course, the political situation had an eerie resonance.

I admit that it sort of fizzled out for me towards the end and then seemed to wrap things up quickly.
View all my reviews

Lucky PennyLucky Penny by Ananth Hirsh
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
I could definitely see why people might find this graphic novel funny (with its dark irreverent sense of humor) but it just didn’t do anything for me. I didn’t like Penny because she was quirky for quirky’s sake. Plus, she seems like a mooch.
View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- January 29, 2017

  1. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    January 29, 2017 at 11:17 pm

    Sara O’Leary is just wonderful, I just love everything she does. A Family is a Family is a Family is so gentle, handling its important message with such a subtle, understated hand.

     
  2. msyingling

    January 30, 2017 at 3:18 am

    Compass South was a lot of information. It’s circulated a little bit, but it is for rather sophisticated readers, I thought.

     
  3. lindabaie

    January 30, 2017 at 6:24 am

    I’d forgotten about Dare To Disappoint. I enjoyed it and especially that it gives other children a chance to know about other countries in a personal way. Thanks for these, Earl, most unfamiliar to me. I’ll look for that first one for my older granddaughter!

     
  4. Michele

    January 30, 2017 at 8:41 am

    I looked for Dill and Bizzy at my library but no luck so far. I have Nameless City to read – sounds like one I need to get to soon!

     
  5. cweichel

    January 30, 2017 at 9:16 am

    I loved A Family is A Family is A Family. I really want to read Hug it Out. When my boys were younger I used do conflict resolution with them when they fought. One time when they were squabbling, they heard me coming. My older one said, “Run! She’s going to make us talk again!”

     
  6. Myra GB

    January 30, 2017 at 7:54 pm

    I own a copy of Dare to Disappoint but haven’t had a chance to read it yet – now I’m definitely intrigued. I just put Hug It Out to my Goodreads to-read list. Sounds like something I’d booktalk in one of my upcoming presentations. 🙂

     
  7. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    January 31, 2017 at 5:14 pm

    I love The Nameless City! It is one of my favorite graphic novels, and I loved book 2 also.
    You also included so many 4 star picture books I don’t know–I will have to remedy that.

    Happy reading this week 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
