RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- February 1, 2017

01 Feb

nfpb2017

Read Baby, Every DayRead Baby, Every Day by John Hutton
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I read this board book during a break in my volunteer shift at the library. Written by a pediatrician, it talks about the importance of filling a baby’s life with words. And, it’s not just during story time which is, of course, recommended, but through talking, just helping them identify the world around them.
View all my reviews

Shackleton's JourneyShackleton’s Journey by William Grill
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’d been meaning to read this for awhile- and after reading his other work The Wolves of Currumpaw, I finally picked it up. Quite an undertaking- both the expedition to the South Pole and the storytelling style. This is definitely the kind of book one will pore over to make sure not miss any of the details. While I do admire the endurance the crew had and the daring to explore, a part of me also wondered what the point of it was. (Though I admit, I’m not much of a nature person.) I appreciated the glossary at the back.

View all my reviews

 

2 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- February 1, 2017

  1. lindabaie

    February 1, 2017 at 10:43 am

    There is a group that helps give books to young parents when they visit pediatricians for a well baby visit, trying to show how important words and reading are for children. It’s called Reach Out And Read, a great organization. I enjoyed Shackleton’s Journey, amazing what they did!

     
  2. Michele

    February 1, 2017 at 11:16 am

    I know many people have enjoyed Shackleton’s Journey. It’s one I got at the library but didn’t love. Color palette was pretty!

     

Leave a Reply

 
