RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- February 5, 2017

05 Feb

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

Stepping Stones: A Refugee Family's JourneyStepping Stones: A Refugee Family’s Journey by Margriet Ruurs
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Stepping Stones is a beautiful heartbreaking picture book telling the story of a family forced to leave their war-torn homeland and seek refuge elsewhere. The journey will be long and dangerous but when the destination offers peace and freedom, it’s one they know they must take. Margriet Ruurs writes the text and offers how the book came to be- from an image on Facebook to reaching out via various friends around the world to cover the language barrier. The artwork is by Nizar Ali Badr. His stone medium is unique and manages to convey many emotions. Orca Book Publishers are donating a portion of the book sale proceeds to various refugee resettlement organizations in the US. A list of organizations is included in the back of the book. This would be a great addition to school and home libraries.

View all my reviews

Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run!: An Alphabet CaperOops, Pounce, Quick, Run!: An Alphabet Caper by Mike Twohy

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A fun alphabet book involving a mouse and a cat.

View all my reviews

The Rooster Who Would Not Be Quiet!The Rooster Who Would Not Be Quiet! by Carmen Agra Deedy

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A new picture book about a rooster who will not be silenced despite all the laws being enforced in a small village about no singing! It’s a great message to not back down against rules that shouldn’t exist in the first place.

View all my reviews

Dragons Love TacosDragons Love Tacos by Adam Rubin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This has been one of our bestselling books at the store and I’ve recommended it so much that I didn’t realize I haven’t even read it until I finished the sequel. It lives up to all the hype. Great read aloud!

View all my reviews

Dragons Love Tacos 2: The SequelDragons Love Tacos 2: The Sequel by Adam Rubin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

An eagerly anticipated picture book that readers of the original will love as much! It involves time traveling and silliness and, of course, dragons who love tacos. I can already hear the laughter (from the future!) as this gets read! Publishes May 2nd.

View all my reviews

I Want to Be a Drummer!I Want to Be a Drummer! by Mark Powers
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A cute board book about a kid who uses things he finds around his house to create his own drum set. This would be a great read aloud for toddlers and to have the items around to make their own noise- music.

View all my reviews

I Want to Be a Reader!I Want to Be a Reader! by Mark Powers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A cute board book about a kid who wants to finish a book all by himself. Fortunately he knows what it’ll take and before he knows he’s surprised that he’s able to!

View all my reviews

Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life by Ashley BryanFreedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life by Ashley Bryan by Ashley Bryan

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Using primary sources, Ashley Bryan imagines the lives- and dreams- of eleven slaves who were sold like property.

View all my reviews

The Wolves of CurrumpawThe Wolves of Currumpaw by William Grill

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was surprised by how much of a love story this turned out to be. A cunning wolf manages to elude hunters and, once captured, manages to ask questions about humans’ roles dealing with nature. Based on Ernest Thompson Seton’s story from 1898 in which his experiences would lead him to form (co-found) the Boy Scouts of America. The illustrations (whether full two-paged spreads or told in panels) are very lavish kind of mirroring the New Mexican landscape.

View all my reviews

The Bad Guys: Episode 1The Bad Guys: Episode 1 by Aaron Blabey

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A fun new beginning chapter book about some bad guys (animals) who are out to do good to the detriment of the people (animals) they’re trying to help!

View all my reviews

Monstress, Volume 1: Awakening (Collected Editions)Monstress, Volume 1: Awakening by Marjorie M. Liu

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Perfect for teenagers and older readers who love dark fantasies. It’s a war torn world full of power hungry creatures and those who are just trying to survive. I was sort of hate reading this in the beginning because I thought it was being too sexual or erotic. But after awhile I was gripped by the storytelling. The illustrations, the characters, were very lush.

Readers will find similarities in this world where whole people (in this case, Archaics) are being hunted (by Cumeans) because they’re different.

I can’t wait for the next collection.

View all my reviews

TrashedTrashed by Derf Backderf

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Working in retail, I don’t really like exaggerated accounts of dealing with customers because I know first hand how unbelievably strange and/or wonderful they can be.

I was more interested in the nonfiction parts- information about the garbage industry- than the narrative. What a mess!

View all my reviews

mustreadin2017

Flying Lessons and Other StoriesFlying Lessons and Other Stories by Ellen Oh
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A great anthology that not only showcases diversity but will give readers an introduction to some of the finest YA writers around right now. I hope people will enjoy the stories and that they will reflect on their own stories- the ones that they alone can tell shaped by their unique background and culture and experiences.

View all my reviews

A Puzzle to Be Named Later (Puzzle Lady, #18)A Puzzle to Be Named Later by Parnell Hall
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Always a delight to come back to these characters and their witty banter. I can’t believe the series is 18-book strong. I think I won’t be able to quit it even if I wanted to since I’m in it too deep!

View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

6 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- February 5, 2017

  1. cweichel

    February 5, 2017 at 8:54 pm

    Hi Earl, I’m picking up a box of books at the end of this week for my role as juror for the Chocolate Lily Award. I’m hoping a copy of Stepping Stones will be there. I’m hoping to find a copy of Dragons Love Tacos since that sounds like a good read.

     
  2. lindabaie

    February 6, 2017 at 7:37 am

    I didn’t realize there was a Dragons Love Tacos 2 and it sound fun as well. I’ve noted others, Earl, but had not heard of Trashed. That also sounds good, a different look! Thanks!

     
  3. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    February 6, 2017 at 9:43 am

    I’m so proud that Orca Books is from my province – they’ve really been bringing us so many really great, inclusive books recently. Go Canada! 😉

     
  4. TeachersforTeachers (@ClareandTammy)

    February 6, 2017 at 11:21 am

    So many books you mentioned are on our TBR list. Can’t wait to read Stepping Stones, The Rooster Who Would Not Be Quiet and Flying Lessons. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about these stories.

     
  5. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    February 6, 2017 at 4:19 pm

    My students love Dragons Love Tacos. Can’t wait to read the second book!

     
  6. Myra GB

    February 6, 2017 at 9:05 pm

    I am really looking forward to getting my own copy of Monstress – I’ve been reading so many great things about it. Your description of The Rooster Who Would Not Be Quiet reminded me of Don’t Cross the Line with the absurdity of (some) rules and having the courage to defy them.

     

Leave a Reply

 
