RSS

#CelebrateLU- February 10, 2017

10 Feb
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating completions.

avatar

My latest obsession has been watching Avatar: The Last Airbender. I didn’t realize it was going to be so good. I feel that everyone who loves animation and an epic adventure story should watch it as well. Elements of spiritualism and conservation are thrown into the mix. Interesting, likable characters and their complicated relationships keep viewers glued to what will happen next. The battle between good and evil is, of course, a timely topic. And I was super impressed by the strong female personalities depicted in the show. Avatar: The Last Airbender is a great for everyone!

Set in the same universe is The Legend of Korra. While I didn’t like it as much, it was nice to see characters from the previous series show up. This show did also up the ante on certain elements- no pun intended. Book Two had one of the greatest villain and fight scene ever. It got a bit of blowback for being too mature for its (Nickelodeon) audience.

My first exploration of the Avatar world was the Gene Luen Yang penned graphic novels. You can read my reviews of them here.

My obsession last year was Gilmore Girls. You can read about it here.

storystorm

One of my writing goals for 2017 was to participate in StoryStorm which is basically to come up with an idea a day. I had missed a day- and then days and then weeks. I was going to give up altogether because I was thinking there was a right way and a wrong way to do this. But there isn’t. So I’ve been brainstorming like crazy these past few days to catch up. It’s been hard work trying to come up with them. But it was also fun. I loved just dedicating time to allow my mind to wander, delving into personal experiences, influences, likes and dislikes, interests, and random associations- with occasional sudden inspiration- to get ideas. I’m going to make writing something fun I want to do again not this thing that causes me stress and anxiety.

I’m pleased to say that I completed the challenge- and on time!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

6 responses to “#CelebrateLU- February 10, 2017

  1. Ruth Ayres

    February 11, 2017 at 10:41 am

    Cheers to writing being fun! I love the way you celebrate completions. It’s made me think about my week and whether I have any completions to celebrate. Thanks for writing, Earl.
    Ruth

     
  2. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    February 11, 2017 at 12:43 pm

    It’s so easy to lose the joy in writing – I sometimes get so wrapped up in what I feel like I should have accomplished or should have achieved that I lose sight of why I actually started writing in the first place!

     
  3. Maria

    February 11, 2017 at 1:14 pm

    Avatar is world I know nothing about although you’ve peaked my interest a little. Gilmore Girls I know everything about and absolutely LOVE Stars Hollow and all the entire crew who live there. Kudos to you on not giving up your writing goal that takes perseverance.

     
  4. Ramona

    February 11, 2017 at 7:10 pm

    I love that you’re celebrating completions. There are lots of opportunities for me to work on a few completions and your post is inspiring. Even when you got behind, you managed to finish – and on time!

     
  5. lindabaie

    February 11, 2017 at 7:39 pm

    What a great way to celebrate, things completed. I’ve never heard of Avatar, might check it out! I did Tara Lazar’s picture book challenge a couple of years ago & it was fun & great learning. Congratulations on both the finishes!

     
  6. cvarsalona

    February 12, 2017 at 5:05 am

    Yes to making writing fun, Earl. Completing tasks is such a joy.

     

Leave a Reply

 
