RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- February 12, 2017

12 Feb

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating completions.

Luis Paints the WorldLuis Paints the World by Terry Farish
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
This emotional picture book tells the story of two brothers- one who gets deployed and the other wishing for his safe return. The latter uses art to get his feelings out. My review won’t do this book justice but it’s worth checking out.
View all my reviews

Boat of DreamsBoat of Dreams by Rogério Coelho
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A beautifully illustrated wordless picture book about an old man and a young boy that transcends space and time.
View all my reviews

Under the UmbrellaUnder the Umbrella by Catherine Buquet
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Translated from France, this picture book is about taking some time out to enjoy the little things in life. In this case, a grumpy old man is walking home in the rain when the wind blows his umbrella away. Where it lands creates an opportunity for the man to see the ray of light even in the gloomiest of days.
View all my reviews

That's Mean!That’s Mean! by Francesco Pittau
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A primer of sorts involving what not to do because those things are mean. Hilarious and would probably give younger readers ideas because of all the laughter it elicits.
View all my reviews

What's Up?What’s Up? by Olivia Cosneau
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A cute little interactive book of different animals. I love the paper engineering in this one.
View all my reviews

Ballet Cat What's Your Favorite Favorite? (Ballet Cat, #3)Ballet Cat What’s Your Favorite Favorite? by Bob Shea
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
The third installment in Bob Shea’s series perfect for fans of Elephant & Piggie. In this one, Ballet Cat and Goat try to outdo one another with their talents to win their grandma’s attention.
View all my reviews

The Case of the Counterfeit Criminals (The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, #3)The Case of the Counterfeit Criminals by Jordan Stratford
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I remember reading about this series way back in its Kickstarter days. I think it was part of the much-needed wave of books featuring strong female characters, both real and made-up. In this case, it’s a combination of both as it features Ada Lovelace and Mary Shelley who’ve formed a detective agency. This third installment has them coming to the aide of another prominent woman- paleontologist Mary Anning- as the duo must deal with a missing dog and a secret society or criminals, not to mention a grandmother who won’t let Ada out of the house. The book includes short biographies of characters mentioned here, as well as an excerpt of the next (and final?) mystery.
View all my reviews

Faith, Volume 1: Hollywood & VineFaith, Volume 1: Hollywood & Vine by Jody Houser
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A collection of comics featuring a plus-sized superhero. I’ve come to the conclusion I’m not really a fan of these kinds of comics although I appreciate them trying to be diverse. The situations all seem too similar for my taste.
View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- February 12, 2017

  1. aaroncleaveley

    February 12, 2017 at 10:45 pm

    I thought Ballet Cat would be huge in my school, as Elephant and Piggie are, but it rarely gets much love. My oldest met the author of the Wollstonecraft series at her school last year, and he could not have been a nicer guy. I enjoyed the first, and I might have to find my copy of the second. You are spot on about the strong female characters being a focus of the series and driver of the plot. Thanks for the post!

     
  2. Karen Yingling

    February 13, 2017 at 3:33 am

    I should take another look at the Wollstonecraft books. I liked the idea, but they somehow didn’t work in practice.

     
  3. lindabaie

    February 13, 2017 at 6:46 am

    I noted all the picture books, Earl, all new to me. Thanks!

     
  4. cweichel

    February 13, 2017 at 9:42 am

    I’m actually hoping this new Wollstonecroft mystery is in the box of books I pick up today. I’ve become infatuated with it, and Jordan Stratford is a BC writer! Thanks for the heads up about Luis Paints the World.

     
  5. Michele

    February 13, 2017 at 11:05 am

    I liked this third Ballet Cat, but maybe not as much as the first two. It was more fun to read it out loud to kids than to myself 🙂

     
  6. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    February 13, 2017 at 11:37 am

    Oooh, I’m excited to try out this new Ballet Cat reader with some of my program kids! 🙂

     
  7. TeachersforTeachers (@ClareandTammy)

    February 13, 2017 at 5:38 pm

    So excited to read Luis Paints the World – Sounds like an important book to have in the classroom.

     
  8. bluestockingthinking

    February 16, 2017 at 3:33 am

    I am now excited to get my hands on a copy of Boat of Dreams, so I’m glad you shared it here!

     

Leave a Reply

 
