RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- February 15, 2017

15 Feb

nfpb2017

The Secret ProjectThe Secret Project by Jonah Winter
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Fascinating and frightening. Something is happening in New Mexico. It will have a devastating effect on the world. But those who know about it aren’t talking. What could it be? An interesting topic to write about which I’m sure will provide lots of discussion, especially after reading the back matter.
View all my reviews

Muhammad Ali: A Champion Is BornMuhammad Ali: A Champion Is Born by Gene Barretta
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Before he was Muhammad Ali, the greatest boxer the world has ever seen, he was Cassius Clay. As a young boy, his new bike gets stolen and, when reporting it to the police, it leads him into boxing training which would pave the way for his legendary career. A timeline of his life is included in the back of the book.
View all my reviews

Malala: Activist for Girls' EducationMalala: Activist for Girls’ Education by Raphaeele Frier
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I was drawn to the beautiful cover and I was pleasantly surprised to learn that this book was illustrated by Aurélia Fronty who did Wangari Maathai: The Woman Who Planted Millions of Trees. As for the text, while I love learning about Malala, I thought it was a bit wordy. I did like the additional information of the back matter giving readers more insight about Malala’s country, culture and influences.
View all my reviews


Hello World! is a board book series that introduces the youngest readers to nature and science concepts. Colorful images and question prompts are mixed in with the story text. For the weather book, kids can choose what to wear. For the space book, kids travel to each planet- and Pluto. For the birds book, kids learn about different kinds from all over the world. For the bugs book, kids can rub the ladybug’s spots and count the spider’s legs.

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- February 15, 2017

  1. Michele

    February 15, 2017 at 10:32 am

    I’ve heard some great things about The Secret Project. I’m on hold for it at the library, looking forward to it!

     
  2. lindabaie

    February 15, 2017 at 3:36 pm

    I’m looking forward to reading the new Malala book, and the one about Muhammed Ali. I’m sure they’re both great. The Secret Project, wow, sounds really interesting. Thanks, Earl.

     
  3. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    February 19, 2017 at 4:04 pm

    Those board books looks adorable!

     

Leave a Reply

 
