RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- February 22, 2017

22 Feb

nfpb2017

Keith Haring: The Boy Who Just Kept DrawingKeith Haring: The Boy Who Just Kept Drawing by Kay Haring
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Although I’ve seen Keith Haring’s art before, I didn’t know anything about him. I’m so glad I read this new nonfiction picture book about him written by his sister. What a creative, inspiring life! I loved that his focus what on creating and making his art accessible to as many people as possible. I definitely want to read more about Keith Haring, especially his altruistic side.

What makes this book even greater is Robert Neubecker’s illustrations and incorporating Keith Haring’s art into it. There’s a gallery of it at the back of the book as well as an Author’s Note and more information about Keith Haring and his foundation.

View all my reviews

Grand CanyonGrand Canyon by Jason Chin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is such an outstanding picture book and it’s my first pick to be Caldecott contender! The fact that it’s nonfiction shouldn’t deter readers from picking it up as a read aloud. It follows a father and daughter as they hike through the various eco-systems of the Grand Canyon.

You’ll learn about the living organisms that call it home, even traveling back through time to see how things have changed. The best part of any nonfiction book in my opinion is seeing how much research was done and to present it in a way that makes people wanting more. This book was full of information- with an impressive back matter content to boot!

Readers will want to explore this book over and over again!

View all my reviews

 

2 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- February 22, 2017

  1. Michele

    February 22, 2017 at 2:57 pm

    Both of these books came in for me at the library yesterday. Looks like great reading ahead!

     
  2. lindabaie

    February 22, 2017 at 6:30 pm

    I just got Grand Canyon from my library! Now you’ve certainly made me want to read it first! Thanks for the Keith Haring review, too. It’s on my list!

     

Leave a Reply

 
