RSS

#CelebrateLU- February 24, 2017

24 Feb
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating The Fellowship of the Ring!

I loved reading The Hobbit a couple summers ago.

I loved the Lord of the Rings movies from a few years back, though. I had a failed attempt getting into the book(s) awhile back because the prologue was too dry and I didn’t want to skip it. (But I would recommend skipping it if you’re new to Middle Earth- and then go back to it once you’ve gotten accustomed to the world of hobbits, wizards, elves, dwarves, and other creatures.)

One of my sisters and I decided to read the Lord of the Rings this year giving me the incentive to pick it up again. I’ve been quite taken by Tolkien’s work so far. This whole new world he’s created is amazing and so real. Despite it being written only in the last century, it feels like it’s been around forever and the basis of all great fantasy novels.

I couldn’t help but keep looking back at the maps, tracking their journeys. I also couldn’t help but wonder about they had played out in the movies.

I love hobbits- Bilbo, Frodo, Sam, and the whole lot of them. Despite their size and their preference to stay where it’s comfortable, safe and familiar, they are willing to step up and go the distance for the greater good.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

2 responses to “#CelebrateLU- February 24, 2017

  1. Terje

    February 25, 2017 at 11:23 am

    “This whole new world he’s created is amazing and so real” – I fully agree with you.

     
  2. Ramona

    February 26, 2017 at 2:19 pm

    I’ve never read these books. My husband and children love all of them. Your post is very persuasive. Maybe I’ll dip in again and skip the prologue! One of my book club members is aghast that I’ve never read these books.

     

Leave a Reply

 
