RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- February 26, 2017

26 Feb

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for a couple of what I think are absolute must reads for this year’s nonfiction picture books!

Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating The Fellowship of the Ring.

The Tree: A FableThe Tree: A Fable by Neal Layton
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Sweet and simple with a great message of being part of- and not apart from- nature. Great for Earth Day collections.

View all my reviews

My First Baby SignsMy First Baby Signs by Phil Conigliaro
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I love that there’s a book like this. Fun interactive book to introduce a way of communicating for the youngest of readers.

View all my reviews

If I Had a Little DreamIf I Had a Little Dream by Nina Laden
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Super sweet book with beautiful illustrations. Look under the dustjacket!

My favorite part though was the author’s dedication. It was to Debbie Alvarez a.k.a. The Styling Librarian. I love that those who’ve gone away are never truly gone as long as we keep them in our hearts and memory.

View all my reviews

MayaMaya by Mahak Jain
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Elly MacKay’s paper theater art is the primary reason I picked up this book. It’s absolutely stunning.

The power goes out in a small village. A girl’s fear of the dark and the noise is lessened by the comfort of her mother’s words, telling her of the story of the first banyan tree. It’s a sweet story of loss and overcoming one’s fear.

View all my reviews

Because of Mr. TeruptBecause of Mr. Terupt by Rob Buyea
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I read this for our Kids Book Club at work. I’d hear lots of positive things about it so I was excited to get started. The lives of students in one fifth grade classroom are changed forever when a new teacher arrives. Told from alternating viewpoints of seven students throughout the entire school year, we see the ripple effects of Mr. Terupt’s lessons. Then something happens that changes everything. How will they respond to it? Will they recover? I’m always anxious when I read a book with “special teacher” because they never fare well in my opinion. They either get laid off or get super sick. Without spoiling anything, I was surprised by this book. Actually 3.5.

View all my reviews

mustreadin2017

Love Is Love: a comic book anthology to benefit the survivors of the Orlando Pulse shootingLove Is Love: a comic book anthology to benefit the survivors of the Orlando Pulse shooting by Marc Andreyko
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My rating is mostly due to the fact that this comic even exists in response of a tragic event. I loved that familiar characters “stood up” and many kidlit creators were also included. While I was reading this, I wrote the following as my social media post: I love the writers, the illustrators, the singers, the actors, the filmmakers, the artists, and everyone else who create things that make us appreciate the world what we have, makes us believe in all the wonderful possibilities out there, makes us see things differently, makes us feel that we aren’t alone, and makes us forget our troubles for awhile. I am reading the graphic novel Love is Love which benefits the survivors of the Orlando Pulse Shooting and I am taken back to last June when the horrific event happened. I’m taken aback to these days’ backward thinking actions by those in power who take away people’s rights because they aren’t like them. But out of last year’s grief, just like in response to our recent political situation, people have stepped up for love and for one another in beautiful, meaningful creative ways.

View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

One response to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- February 26, 2017

  1. cweichel

    February 28, 2017 at 11:53 am

    I added both of those nonfiction books you wrote about to my must read list, but am going to have to wait awhile before I get to read them. Love is Love sounds like such an important book. I got all weepy reading your response to it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
