RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- March 1, 2017

01 Mar

nfpb2017

Strange Fruit: Billie Holiday and the Power of a Protest SongStrange Fruit: Billie Holiday and the Power of a Protest Song by Gary Golio
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is the story of a song that needed to be heard and that became a protest song against racism in the beginning of the Civil Rights era. With Billie Holiday’s experience and voice, it was brought to life and forced people to think about the lyrics and their significance to what was happening around them. Find an audio of the song to get a deeper experience with the book’s subject.

View all my reviews

The Playbook: 52 Rules to Aim, Shoot, and Score in This Game Called LifeThe Playbook: 52 Rules to Aim, Shoot, and Score in This Game Called Life by Kwame Alexander
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Part biography not only of Kwame Alexander’s childhood involving sports but also of other athletes, part poetry and advice, and part inspirational quotes, this is a great guidebook for teens and pre-teens. It’ll be nice to pair with 365 Days of Wonder.

View all my reviews

Animal Ark: Celebrating Our Wild World in Poetry and PicturesAnimal Ark: Celebrating Our Wild World in Poetry and Pictures by Kwame Alexander
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Haikus are paired with amazing animal photographs by Joel Sartore who’s been spotlighting disappearing, threatened or endangered species as part of Photo Ark project for National Geographic.

This stunning book includes multiple fold-out spreads, author and photographer notes as well as information about the project.

View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- March 1, 2017

  1. lindabaie

    March 1, 2017 at 1:13 pm

    The Playbook is on my list, but didn’t know about Animal Ark, Earl. Wow, both I’m sure are worth finding. Thanks for telling about the bio of Billie Holiday too. I love listening to her, will look for this book!

     
  2. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    March 1, 2017 at 7:10 pm

    I have both of these to read! I cannot wait! 🙂 I love Kwame’s writing.

     
  3. annettepimentel

    March 2, 2017 at 4:13 pm

    I’m fascinated by Strange Fruit. Asking my library to buy it. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
