RSS

#CelebrateLU- March 3, 2017

03 Mar
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating my month-long #LoveMonth challenge I did in February.

The challenge was: Take a moment to share who or what you loved about that day. Love yourself. Love others.

#Day1 I love being a bookseller. Today’s interactions were great because we connected as Readers.

#Day2 I love volunteering. Every since moving to Portland, it’s become a part of my life. My weekly shift is with the library.

#Day3 I love Mariah Carey. I don’t know if any of you knew that about me? Her new song “I Don’t” premiered today so I couldn’t be happier. Her music has inspired me for a long time now and has become a soundtrack of my life.

#Day4 I love that I’m an uncle again. My sister and her husband welcomed a beautiful baby girl into the world. I can’t wait to see my new niece!

#Day5 I love when people read my blog. Someone called the store saying she was a customer from a couple weeks back who liked my book recommendations. I had given her my blog URL and she had lost it but called for it. I thought that was pretty cool. Blogging has been a great way to further share my love of books. Plus it’s a great community of others who share my passion.

#Day6 I love that I’m having a book club with my sister via text. We’re reading The Fellowship of the Ring.

#Day7 Happy birthday, Charmaine! I love you. Always.

#Day8 I love that I have the next two days off. It’s been an exhausting week for some reason. I hope I can feel reinvigorated soon!

#Day9 I love Starbucks. It’s definitely my go to place to get caffeinated and to work on my laptop!

#Day10 I love that I got to volunteer again for The Children’s Book Bank. It’s been awhile and this was a fun new way to help them out.

#Day11 I love that I feel motivated to start exercising again even if it’s just walking at least 30 minutes a day. Let’s take care of ourselves and each other! (Oh, I also love this sign I ran across during today’s walk!)

lm3

#Day12 I love that I get to work with such kind, book-loving people!

#Day13 I love the weather Portland has been having these past few days!

#Day14 I love being part of this year’s Cybils as a round 2 judge in the graphic novels categories.

#Day15 I love books for cheering me up. And this day definitely needed an assist with that matter! This is my first favorite picture book of 2017!

kh

#Day16 I love that my regular volunteer shift at the library was right after my horrible experience at the American Red Cross donating blood. One of the things I can comfortably brag about (besides walking 20% faster than most people) is that I bleed very quickly. With that said, I was there for over an hour which I wasn’t happy about. I was ready to walk out multiple times but I didn’t drink for a few days to not not donate blood. I felt bad for the employees for being under staffed but they should have planned accordingly with what they had because I wasn’t the only one there not wanting to ever go back. Well this was more of a rant the a love post. But the library staff were great people. Helping them and talking with them cheered me up.

#Day17 I love Pip’s Original Doughnuts. I’m so (continually) impressed by their whole existence- how they conduct their business and the fact they make my favorite doughnuts in all of Portland!

#Day18 I love meeting super nice people! Some out of town visitors came to the store and they apparently had a great time. They even left a note to give to my boss but I’m keeping it. (I covered the phone number with one of the event signs I’m working on.) It made my day!

lm2

#Day19 I love that I’ve been able to cut back on my spending money eating out this past week. I was able to do it a few months ago but when December and the holidays came, I started doing it again because I wanted to have moments. I’m all for treating oneself but not every day when it’s going to cause more headache that happiness in the long run.

#Day20 I love hobbits- Bilbo, Frodo, Sam, and the whole lot of them. Despite their size and their preference to stay where it’s comfortable, safe and familiar, they are willing to step up and go the distance for the greater good.

#Day21 I love getting to sleep in in the mornings! It’s the little things sometimes!

#Day22 I love that those who’ve gone away are never truly gone as long as we keep them in our hearts and memory.

#Day23 I love the writers, the illustrators, the singers, the actors, the filmmakers, the artists, and everyone else who create things that make us appreciate the world what we have, makes us believe in all the wonderful possibilities out there, makes us see things differently, makes us feel that we aren’t alone, and makes us forget our troubles for awhile. I am reading the graphic novel Love is Love which benefits the survivors of the Orlando Pulse Shooting and I am taken back to last June when the horrific event happened. I’m taken aback to these days’ backward thinking actions by those in power who take away people’s rights because they aren’t like them. But out of last year’s grief, just like in response to our recent political situation, people have stepped up for love and for one another in beautiful, meaningful creative ways.

#Day24 I love how a clean room can make it seem like anything’s possible. Try it and see for yourself

#Day25 I love I Love Lucy. I remember watching the reruns after school. I even did a book report of Lucille Ball’s autobiography. The show still makes me laugh uncontrollably even after all these years. And watching clips of other Lucille Ball shows and appearances, I have so much respect for her. She loved making people laugh and she was grateful for how much people loved her back in return.

#Day26 I love that so many authors and illustrators have stopped by to do events at the store or to make sure to stop by when they’re in Portland.

#Day27 I love that I got a story idea this morning. I’d been feeling mentally exhausted recently with current affairs. And rainy days and Mondays don’t help! But sometimes an idea will come to you unexpectedly and you should embrace it.

#Day28 I love working at Green Bean Books! I’ve said it many times before that it’s a great place to explore and discover wonderful things. Aside from recommending great books, I also like the personal connections created with fellow readers. The past couple of days I’ve had people who’ve felt overwhelmed with current events and they sought some sort of solace in books. After talking to them, I’m glad the bookstore was able to help them in a way.
(This is a photo of a quilt project we did at the store for MLK Jr. Day. People came and decorated squares which were then used to make two quilts to donate to kids in need.)

lm1

I hope you all take time every day to think about something or someone you love.

What are you celebrating this week?

 

3 responses to “#CelebrateLU- March 3, 2017

  1. Tara Smith

    March 4, 2017 at 1:28 pm

    At the center of all you love are family and books – I loved reading through your list, what a wonderful way to celebrate.

     
  2. lindabaie

    March 4, 2017 at 2:25 pm

    Earl, this is a post I hope you’ll keep, to savor your life again and again. I think you and I would have a bit of fun together. I am a fan of books as you know, but most particularly Tolkien, and I love Starbucks. How great to hear about that thank you note, and to hear about more volunteering. I loved every bit!

     
  3. cvarsalona

    March 4, 2017 at 7:25 pm

    Earl, you certainly had a wonderful love month. Keep on celebrating the good times.

     

Leave a Reply

 
