RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- March 8, 2017

08 Mar

nfpb2017

Little People, Big Dreams: Agatha ChristieLittle People, Big Dreams: Agatha Christie by Mª Isabel Sánchez Vegara

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I love any biography series where they focus on the not-already-written-about-multiple-times subjects. And with Agatha Christie being my favorite writer of all time, I was excited for this one. I didn’t learn anything new but people will get the important details of her life and work- creating mysteries (and the detectives who solve them) that have entertained readers for almost a hundred years!

View all my reviews

My Princess BoyMy Princess Boy by Cheryl Kilodavis

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A sweet story of a family who’s accepting of their Princess Boy. A much needed read for those who don’t conform to society’s ideas of what’s normal. How I wish that we’re at a time that people are truly accepting of one another despite our differences. Until then, and this book does mention that not everyone is as understanding, hopefully this book will be a serve as a message of “I see you. I love you for who you are.” Based on the author’s experiences.

View all my reviews

I’ve decided to include this in this nonfiction picture book post because it is a great how-to communicate without using words.
My First Baby SignsMy First Baby Signs by Phil Conigliaro

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I love that there’s a book like this. Fun interactive book to introduce a way of communicating for the youngest of readers.

View all my reviews

The Legendary Miss Lena HorneThe Legendary Miss Lena Horne by Carole Boston Weatherford

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Carole Boston Weatherford is a name I’m becoming more familiar with as I read more nonfiction picture books. Growing up in a segregated and racist country where African Americans were treated less than, Lena Horne managed to be a force to be reckoned with not only through songs and movies but also as a civil rights activist. I hope readers will realize how unfairly and unnecessarily cruel certain people were being treated because they looked different than them. I hope readers will realize that this happened not so long ago and is still happening in certain parts of the country. We have to make sure that we don’t lose all the progress we’ve made as a nation to be more inclusive. On a lighter note, I hope readers will watch the video of Lena Horne singing with Grover on Sesame Street where they sing “How Do You Do?” where she helps the blue furry monster overcome his shyness.

View all my reviews

I figured I’ll just share the YouTube clip here.

 

2 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- March 8, 2017

  1. Michele

    March 8, 2017 at 11:31 am

    I agree – Carole Boston Weatherford is a name I’ve started to look out for now! I’d like to get to her Dorothea Lange book, but the library hasn’t ordered it yet…

     
  2. lindabaie

    March 8, 2017 at 1:36 pm

    I still haven’t read it, but loved Lena Horne in my early adulthood. She had such a gorgeous voice and manner. Can’t wait to read this book, Earl, & thanks for the video clip!

     

Leave a Reply

 
