RSS

#CelebrateLU- March 10, 2017

10 Mar
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating bookish and bookstore moments.

#1- I got to dress up as the Very Hungry Caterpillar again. It was nice to see kids excited and hugging this beloved children’s book character.

vhc

#2- From a post I shared earlier this week:

“Whenever I have a good day at work- like today- I always feel like I just won an award and I end up wanting to thank everyone for making it possible. It’s the connections made that really get to me. And I’m so thankful that I work at this incredibly wonderful bookstore and I somehow get to improve other people’s lives by being a bookseller. They in turn make me happy because I’m really so amazed by how well read they are and how they want to do good for others and in the world and they absolutely get that books have the power to do all those things. I’m overwhelmed with gratitude… #booksellerlife”

#3- For International Women’s Day, my boss decided to donate a portion of that day’s sales to the local chapter of Planned Parenthood. It made me happy to see other businesses doing something similar!

iwd

#4- I ate out last week to a restaurant/bar that donated 50% of their profits that day to the Friends of the Library I was a volunteer at. I really wasn’t expecting that people would talk to me since I’m always thinking people won’t remember me but it was nice seeing familiar faces and having them come up to me to chat.

$5- On Dr. Seuss’s birthday, I volunteered to be a greeter at an open house for The Children’s Book Bank at their new location. It was such an uplifting positive experience which confirmed my belief that book people are the best people.

cbb

What are you celebrating this week?

 

2 responses to “#CelebrateLU- March 10, 2017

  1. lindabaie

    March 11, 2017 at 5:01 pm

    This sounds like an absolutely wonderful week, Earl. You look so happy in that picture. You didn’t say, but do you happen to be that “hungry caterpillar”. It’s a terrific costume. Have a great weekend too!

     
  2. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    March 13, 2017 at 11:13 am

    Your workplace just sounds wonderful! What an amazing Caterpillar costume!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
