RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- March 12, 2017

12 Mar

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:

-Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

-Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating bookish and bookstore moments.

Crocodile TearsCrocodile Tears by André François

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This quirky picture book is reminiscent of Maurice Sendak’s Nutshell Library humor. And, apparently the reason why it had a old-vibey feel was that it was first published in the 1950’s. Cased in envelope-looking slipcover, this crocodile-length book is full of silliness.

View all my reviews

Bedtime for BatmanBedtime for Batman by Michael Dahl

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This cute picture book follows two parallel story lines of a young boy and Batman, one getting ready to call it a day and the other saving the day.

View all my reviews

Grandfather Counts (A Reading Rainbow Book)Grandfather Counts by Andrea Cheng

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I love intergenerational multicultural stories. This picture book was recommended by a librarian where I volunteer. A girl’s grandfather comes to live with her and her family. The language barrier doesn’t allow them to communicate much until they end up sharing the pastime of watching the trains pass by their house. Soon, they are teaching one another each other’s language and learning more than they expected. If you enjoyed Mango, Abuela, and Me by Meg Medina, you’ll enjoy this older title.

View all my reviews

Adrift: An Odd Couple of Polar BearsAdrift: An Odd Couple of Polar Bears by Jessica Olien

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was listening to an All the Wonders podcast and this book was recommended. I like books that surprise, that offer me more than an entertaining story. Aside from an unlikely friendship story involving two polar bears adrift on melting ice floe, this also provided readers information about the dangers of global warming (in terms of melting polar ice caps) and how we can help combat it.

View all my reviews

Animal Colors and MoreAnimal Colors and More by Katie Viggers

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A beautifully illustrated picture book- the third in the series- about the colors. Playful text. Endpapers provide a few interactive elements- like finding the animal pairs and identifying all the animals.

View all my reviews

The Bamboo DanceThe Bamboo Dance by Cress Sia

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I didn’t realize we had a picture book in the store about the Philippines. This one focuses on two boys who practice tinikling, the bamboo dance, in hopes of winning a contest. But, for one of them, it’s not as easy as he thought it would be. Will he give up or will his friend be able to convince him to give it another try? I was bummed that the publisher (Hartyan Kids) went out of business a few years ago because it seemed like they were featuring diverse, multicultural titles. (I think they only managed to publish two titles.) In the back of each book is a pocket containing a sticker of the country written about which readers can collect on their passport.

View all my reviews

An AlphabetAn Alphabet by Oliver Jeffers

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Aside from Oliver Jeffers’ great illustrations, there wasn’t really anything that stuck out to me about this one. But for parents looking for a straightforward alphabet book for their babies, this works fine. But everyone should read the original picture book it’s based on, Once Upon an Alphabet.

View all my reviews

A Little StuckA Little Stuck by Oliver Jeffers

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This abridged version managed to capture the silliness and humor of the original picture book.

View all my reviews

Keith Haring Pop Art Baby!Keith Haring Pop Art Baby! by Keith Haring

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This has been one of my favorite board books to recommend because it’s multilingual featuring words in English, Spanish, French, and German. Plus, it features Keith Haring’s art. My favorite page is the fuzzy heart page.

View all my reviews

Keith Haring Pop Art 123!Keith Haring Pop Art 123! by Keith Haring

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was surprised to see a companion to Keith Haring Pop Art Baby! This time, his iconic artwork is used to help the youngest readers to count.

View all my reviews

The Matchstick CastleThe Matchstick Castle by Keir Graff

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

For middle grades who don’t want fantasy or a realistic read that tackles something sad or serious, this is a fun novel about a boy who against his choice has to spend the summer with his uncle’s family in a town named Boring. After getting chased by a wild boar when exploring the woods, he and his cousin find a family as wacky as their cottage castle. Doors that lead to nowhere. Family members who go missing inside their very house. It’s a silly romp.

View all my reviews

The Hour of DaydreamsThe Hour of Daydreams by Renee M. Rutledge
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m always on the look out for Filipino characters, authors, stories. I was lucky enough to get an early copy of this debut novel (available March 14th) from Forest Avenue Press. I would describe The Hour of Daydreams as lyrical magical realism reminiscent of Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon because of its stories within stories format.

I did wish it veered either more to its more fantastical or its more grounded in reality elements. Nevertheless, it’s a love story unlike one you’ve probably ever read.
View all my reviews

mustreadin2017

Secrets & Sequences (Secret Coders #3)Secrets & Sequences by Gene Luen Yang

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Who knew computer coding can be so fun and accessible to everyone? Volume 3 continues to bring it, building up on the world and lessons from previous books and creating new puzzles and revealing a more dastardly plot. What I loved about this one was that it didn’t feel as bogged down as book two. I was worried that the series would continue to feel more textbooksy but fortunately that wasn’t the case!

View all my reviews

Secret Coders: Lost & FoundSecret Coders: Lost & Found by Gene Luen Yang

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I ran into this short comic by accident. This takes place after Book 3 involving finding a missing dog and using programming! I can’t wait to let others know about this!

View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

4 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- March 12, 2017

  1. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    March 13, 2017 at 11:15 am

    The publishing industry is just so tough these days, so many independent publishers struggle just to stay afloat, which really sucks, because so many of the most innovative and diverse books come not from the big houses but from the plucky independent ones that are more willing to take chances! 😦

     
  2. cschwanke2013Iro

    March 13, 2017 at 11:35 am

    I love the Bedtime for Batman book!

     
  3. cweichel

    March 13, 2017 at 6:42 pm

    I just recently discovered Andrea Cheng’s Anna Wang series so I am excited about Grandfather Counts. The Hour of Daydreams sounds like a delightful read. I have liked all the magical realism I’ve read so far.
    I think it would be interesting to compare Adrift with Ida Always. It’s the environmental (and emotional well being) component that seemed to be missing in the latter. I’ll look for Adrift.

     
  4. Myra GB

    March 23, 2017 at 4:21 am

    The Hour of Daydreams sounds lovely. Have you read Mia Alvar’s In the Country yet? If you haven’t, you should find it. I reviewed it here: https://gatheringbooks.org/2016/08/11/a-country-within-ones-consciousness-in-mia-alvars-in-the-country-stories/

     

Leave a Reply

 
