RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- March 19, 2017

19 Mar

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:
-Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

Flora and the Chicks: A Counting Book by Molly IdleFlora and the Chicks: A Counting Book by Molly Idle by Molly Idle
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Molly Idle keeps her Flora series fresh in this board book designed to teach young readers to count from one to ten as the titular character finds herself bombarded by chicks. Lift the flaps reveals the chaotic fun.

View all my reviews

Masha and Her SistersMasha and Her Sisters by Suzy Ultman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Cute novelty board book in the shape of Russian nesting dolls about five sisters with different interests. The beautiful design and illustration makes up for the sparse text.

View all my reviews

TriangleTriangle by Mac Barnett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What I think of this book doesn’t really matter since when these two get together, it’s something everyone looks forward to. I may have hyped it too much before reading it but it’s still an enjoyable story and I’ll still read the other books in the series!

View all my reviews

Bee & MeBee & Me by Alison Jay
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Bee-utiful wordless picture book about friendship. I also liked the information at the end about taking care of bees and also discovering how she came up with the idea of this book!

View all my reviews

TreesTrees by Lemniscates
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Gorgeous illustrations about the wonder of trees.

View all my reviews

Books Do Not Have WingsBooks Do Not Have Wings by Brynne Barnes
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Lyrical text tells of a celebration of the magic found in books. The wonderful illustrations takes it a step further.

View all my reviews

We Are FamilyWe Are Family by Patricia Hegarty
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I didn’t particularly enjoy the text but I appreciated the depictions of different kinds of families in the illustrations.

View all my reviews

See You in the CosmosSee You in the Cosmos by Jack Cheng
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

In what I think is a must read novel of 2017 and my choice for a Newbery honor, See You in the Cosmos features one of the most original voices I’ve read in awhile. Alex (who’s half-Filipino) is entering a rocket launching contest in which he wants to include a recording of himself talking about his life for any intelligent beings who happen to come across his Golden I-Pod in outer space. It’s not an easy life with a mom who has more and more of her quiet days and a brother who lives in another state but fortunately he has his best non-human friend with him- his dog Carl Sagan named after his hero. Together they end up in search of Alex’s maybe dad but finds one surprise after another.

He reminded me of myself, in the sense that we both (all of us, really) are looking for simple answers to life’s big questions and maybe aren’t satisfied by the bits and pieces we get. But we’re not meant to know everything although the realization he gets towards the end (the passage that ends with words are shadows too) of the book was great.

(The iffy thing that made me not really like this novel though is that there are adults who decide to take a kid they don’t know with them. While good-intentioned, it just didn’t seem right.)

It’s a mix of Counting by 7’s and Wonder.

View all my reviews

mustreadin2017

Hello, UniverseHello, Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

In my quest to find books by Filipino authors and/or featuring Filipino characters, I’d been introduce to fairly new middle grade author Erin Estrada Kelly. In this third stand-alone novel, we get four kids whose lives end up connecting in mysterious ways and told from their various points of view. From a shy Filipino boy with a grandmother who tells tales from the Philippines, a bully out to impress his father, a girl who’s navigating being deaf, and to an older sister who also happens to be a self-proclaimed psychic, readers will find themselves engrossed in their mini-adventures, each one adding a piece to the bigger picture.

And, I don’t think it’s a spoiler since it’s included in the summary, but one reason I didn’t particularly enjoy this book was I don’t like stories where kids get trapped in wells.

View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- March 19, 2017

  1. randomlyreading

    March 20, 2017 at 6:31 am

    This is quite an eclectic selection of books you have today. I’ve been wondering about See You in the Cosmos and i’m glad you like it. Now I’ll be more inclined to pick it up and read it, too. But I was sorry to hear there’s a well aspect to Hello, Universe. I’m not found of well stories.
    Thanks for sharing you week in reading.

     
  2. lindabaie

    March 20, 2017 at 7:35 am

    You add to my list every week, Earl. I’ll be sure to find those two chapter books, and a few of the picture books, too! Thank you!

     
  3. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    March 20, 2017 at 8:44 am

    I love Molly Idle’s Flora series, I’m so excited for this delightful counting book, it looks wonderful!!

     
  4. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    March 20, 2017 at 2:31 pm

    Ooh! I didn’t know there was a new Flora book coming out! I look forward to reading that one!

     
  5. Alyson Beecher

    March 20, 2017 at 2:47 pm

    I met Jack Cheng at a dinner recently. I agree that his debut book is a special read. Lots of wonderful books on this list.

     
  6. TeachersforTeachers (@ClareandTammy)

    March 20, 2017 at 5:40 pm

    This line in your post made me want to read this book ASAP “He reminded me of myself, in the sense that we both (all of us, really) are looking for simple answers to life’s big questions and maybe aren’t satisfied by the bits and pieces we get.”

     
  7. Michele

    March 21, 2017 at 6:15 am

    I’m looking forward to Cosmos. I have a copy of it. It didn’t appeal to me at first, but I’m hearing more and more glowing reviews.
    I agree with UNIVERSE. I liked it, but the whole trapped in a well thing is not something I like.

     
  8. Myra GB

    March 23, 2017 at 3:10 am

    Have you read Erin Kelly’s The Land Of Forgotten Girls? I thought it was fairly well done – do check out Isabel Roxas’ picture books as well – Let Me Finish! is just so much fun! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
