RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- March 22, 2017

22 Mar

nfpb2017

Gordon Parks: How the Photographer Captured Black and White AmericaGordon Parks: How the Photographer Captured Black and White America by Carole Boston Weatherford
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I wasn’t familiar with Gordon Parks nor his work- especially not with his photography. I didn’t really think about it until recently but I guess there are lots of famous photographers so it was interesting to find them and read about the people behind the lens. This biography was another instant though where the back matter was more fascinating than the actual text and I can’t imagine why they just didn’t use that since it filled the gaps in information that readers would have wanted to know.

View all my reviews

Who Was Lucille Ball?Who Was Lucille Ball? by Pam Pollack
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I love Lucy and I love this series so it was great to read about Lucille Ball. People may only know her from all the happiness she brought in their lives but she was also a great trailblazer as a business woman. There’s a section in this book where they share some of the more memorable “I Love Lucy” episodes and I bet readers would end up watching those clips on YouTube.

View all my reviews

 

4 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- March 22, 2017

  1. lindabaie

    March 22, 2017 at 9:28 am

    I enjoyed the book about Gordon Parks, knew his work before and his longer books. I haven’t read this book about Lucy. What fun, and I really know little about her outside the tv show.Thanks, Earl.

     
  2. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    March 22, 2017 at 9:59 am

    Lucille Ball was such a pioneer in the entertainment industry, and she played the ditsy lovable role on TV so well that we often forget just how intelligent and successful she was!

     
  3. Michele

    March 22, 2017 at 11:12 am

    I find that Carole Boston Weatherford always puts an interesting spin on her biographies.

     
  4. bluestockingthinking

    March 24, 2017 at 5:32 am

    Gordon Parks sounds interesting!

     

Leave a Reply

 
