RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- March 29, 2017

29 Mar

nfpb2017

John Ronald's Dragons: The Story of J. R. R. TolkienJohn Ronald’s Dragons: The Story of J. R. R. Tolkien by Caroline McAlister
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m currently in the middle of reading Lord of the Rings. I’ve watched and loved the movies- as well as The Hobbit and its films. Before I couldn’t see why people were such fanatics about Tolkien and Middle-Earth but now it all makes sense. What he’s accomplished in world making and storytelling is unparalleled so to read about the man behind the genius has been great. The picture book includes author and illustrator notes that will enhance the reading experience. Definitely one of the best picture books- nonfiction or otherwise- this year!

View all my reviews

A Handful of Quiet: Happiness in Four PebblesA Handful of Quiet: Happiness in Four Pebbles by Thich Nhat Hanh
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

With easy to follow text and activities, kids are introduced to a way of meditation. Perfect, too, for adults with short attention spans. Great as a group (family, classroom) activity.

View all my reviews

Gandhi: my life is my message: a Graphic novelGandhi: my life is my message: a Graphic novel by Jason Quinn
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

If you’ve been interested in reading more about lives of heroes who promoted peace through nonviolence, this graphic novel biography of Gandhi is a great read to get an idea of the life he’s lead, how events in his life affected him and his beliefs, as well as the unintended consequences of living this kind of life. I have to give credit to Gandhi’s wife because it sure didn’t seem easy being married to him. It’s a good reminder that even heroes are humans too and hopefully our faults doesn’t outweigh our ability to do good.

View all my reviews

 

2 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- March 29, 2017

  1. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    March 29, 2017 at 10:33 am

    Oh wow, that Tolkien picture book sounds wonderful!!

     
  2. lindabaie

    March 29, 2017 at 1:05 pm

    Thanks for each one, Earl, I found them all at the library. Tolkien’s books are re-reads for me. and I loved the movies, too. Amazing stories that he built. I’m glad you are now hooked! Can’t wait to read that one! Gandhi in a graphic novel, wow! It will be an interesting read.

     

Leave a Reply

 
