RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- April 2, 2017

02 Apr

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

Four Feet, Two SandalsFour Feet, Two Sandals by Karen Lynn Williams
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A very touching tale about two girls in a refugee camp. One day after a relief truck visit, each finds half of a pair of sandals. They end up sharing their new discovery and become friends.
View all my reviews

Happy DreamerHappy Dreamer by Peter H. Reynolds
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A feel good book with a positive message. Find a dream and follow it.
View all my reviews

We Are the DinosaursWe Are the Dinosaurs by Laurie Berkner
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I didn’t realize this was a song turned into a picture book. I liked the storyline that was added and the illustrations. The sheet music for the song can be found under the dustjacket on the back.
View all my reviews

MarloMarlo by Christopher Browne
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
An almost wordless bathtime/underwater adventure with a seek and find element.
View all my reviews

Maisy Goes to the Local BookstoreMaisy Goes to the Local Bookstore by Lucy Cousins
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
As a bookseller, I am always curious about books about bookstores- and how they would incorporate the wonders of reading that can be found in one but differentiate it from the library. I’m happy Maisy bought books and didn’t make a mess of the store!
View all my reviews

Princess Cora and the CrocodilePrincess Cora and the Crocodile by Laura Amy Schlitz

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Fans of The Princess in Black series will love this series of another untraditional princess. Princess Cora wants to have some fun but all the adults in her life are too focused on making sure she’ll be ready to be queen. How does a crocodile help solve her problems? Find out in this delightful beginning chapter book.
View all my reviews

Woof (Bowser and Birdie #1)Woof by Spencer Quinn
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
First, I was under the impression this was going to be a quick read. Second, I thought it would be alternating viewpoints between the dog and girl. I was wrong on both accounts. This was a  rather long read at almost three hundred pages from a dog’s point of view that annoyed me for some reason. Maybe it seemed too cutesy. It could be I’m not a pet person but I’ve tolerated them before and even petted a dog recently.
View all my reviews

mustreadin2017

The Two Towers (The Lord of the Rings, #2)The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
To be honest, this book kind of dragged but that’s to be expected with the way the fellowship has scattered. There were lots of ground to cover. The shift on the focus of characters with each part was jarring. I would have preferred alternating chapters. But who am I to judge a masterpiece such as this?

A couple of stand-outs were the introduction of the Ents and the conflicted character of Gollum.
View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

3 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- April 2, 2017

  1. lindabaie

    April 3, 2017 at 7:52 am

    I shared about Cora today, too, a fun new book! I’m looking forward to reading Happy Dreamer, Earl. Thanks for sharing the others, too.

     
  2. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    April 3, 2017 at 3:49 pm

    I need to get the new Reynolds book–I am just a fan of everything he does. He really touches my heart with his words and illustrations.

    Happy reading this week 🙂

     
  3. Myra GB

    April 5, 2017 at 1:43 am

    It was so long ago when I read The Lord of the Rings trilogy and The Hobbit – but I do remember struggling with the books at one point – they are definitely not very easy/quick reads.

     

Leave a Reply

 
