RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- April 5, 2017

05 Apr

nfpb2017

Tiny Stitches: The Life of Medical Pioneer Vivien ThomasTiny Stitches: The Life of Medical Pioneer Vivien Thomas by Gwendolyn Hooks
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was recommended to me by a librarian after I told her I was proclaiming 2017 as the year of nonfiction picture books. I was intrigued when she had mentioned being impressed by this even though I had no idea what she was referring to with the term “blue babies.”

It was amazing how much Vivien Thomas persevered- and not just because of racism. It’s still unbelievable how mistreated people were (are) treated because of the color of their skin. I’m just glad that he got recognized for his incredible life-saving achievements.

A stand-out feature was the backmatter which included a glossary of medical terms, information about tetralogy of Fallot (the scientific name of the “blue babies” condition, as well as more information about Vivien Thomas with a focus on the people whose career trajectories he helped shape. I was curious if they were part of the Old Hands Club who helped spotlight him and his contribution to the medical field in the first place.
View all my reviews

Queer: A Graphic HistoryQueer: A Graphic History by Meg-John Barker
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was a good overview of a very expansive and expanding subject but it felt too dry for my taste. Although I have to give props that by disseminating all this formation in a graphic novel format actually made it more appealing.

I admit some of the thinkings seemed very radical to me. There was at least one idea that I’m still pondering: in our struggle to fit in, have we forgotten if the mold is even something we should even aspire to?

View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- April 5, 2017

  1. michelle @ books my kids read

    April 5, 2017 at 9:35 am

    I knew about Tiny Stitches, but Queer is a new one to me. Completely interesting topic, but I doubt it will play a lot of places.

     
  2. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    April 5, 2017 at 10:24 am

    Queer is a new one to me, too, but I absolutely need to pick it up now.

     
  3. Michele

    April 9, 2017 at 7:50 am

    I really liked reading Tiny Stitches last year. Having a daughter who has thrived under a doctor that has pushed boundaries and thought outside of the box, I really liked reading about another man who was able to do so, even under hard circumstances.

     

Leave a Reply

 
