RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- April 9, 2017

09 Apr

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

Grandmother ThornGrandmother Thorn by Katey Howes
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I got a chance to see and read this beautiful picture book at the American Booksellers Association’s Children’s Institute.

First of all, the illustrations are stunning. Layered and textured printed on beautiful paper. Full of details that invite closer inspections of every page.

I love stories featuring grandparents who aren’t going senile or on the verge of dying. It may seem that kids wouldn’t respond well to stories featuring older characters but the story (and illustrations) will captivate them.

Publishes August 29th.
View all my reviews

Mr. TannerMr. Tanner by Harry Chapin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A cute picture book based on the song by “Cat’s in the Cradle” singer-songwriter Harry Chapin. Great for dreamers and anyone who’s passionate about anything. I dare anyone who’s finished this book to not want to listen to the song which was surprisingly catchy for its uniqueness. This would be great to pair with The Bear and the Piano by David Litchfield.

A cool thing about this book is that the publisher (Ripple Grove Press) is donating a portion of the sales to WhyHunger, a nonprofit co-founded by Harry Chapin and radio DJ Bill Ayres.
View all my reviews

Graduation DayGraduation Day by Piotr Parda
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
This wordless picture book will absolutely charm any reader. A great addition to any Kindness themed library for any time of the year but particularly fitting for graduation day. This is a book you’ll end up rereading over and over again and find- or feel- something new each time.
View all my reviews

Apparently, it seems like all I read this week were picture books from Ripple Grove Press so I figured I’d share my other reviews of their catalog.

The Gentleman BatThe Gentleman Bat by Abraham Schroeder
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
An old-fashioned tale told in verse about some rather fancy bats

A cute simple story of Victorian-era style and manners paired with highly detailed illustrations.

This title was a great first offering from a new children’s picture book publishing company- Ripple Grove Press- based in Portland, Oregon!
View all my reviews

Too Many TablesToo Many Tables by Abraham Schroeder
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A restaurant is about to open. Everything is perfect until the crew realizes there are no tables! With a request here and there, they get all kinds of tables from all kinds of people- until they are overwhelmed with tables. Readers will be delighted by this story and enjoy the silliness in the illustrations.
View all my reviews

The Peddler's BedThe Peddler’s Bed by Lauri Fortino
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Great colorful illustrations can be found in this surprising story about kindness. An old man who’s surrounded by things that go squeak is offered an incredibly comfortable bed by a passing peddler.
View all my reviews

Mae and the MoonMae and the Moon by Jami Gigot
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A girl befriends the moon and worries when one night her nocturnal pal doesn’t show up. Playful illustrations accompany this sweet story perfect for cuddling storytimes. I love the depiction of the phases of the moon at the back endpaper
View all my reviews

Lizbeth Lou Got a Rock in Her ShoeLizbeth Lou Got a Rock in Her Shoe by Troy Howell
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
The cut-paper illustrations alone will be enough to grab the reader’s attention. This circular tale will delight readers as they follow the journey of a thrown rock.
View all my reviews

Monday Is Wash DayMonday Is Wash Day by Maryann Sundby
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A charming picture book that harkens back to a time when families work together to tackle chores. While not particularly exciting, it’s still an enjoyable read. The cut-paper collages are beautiful!
View all my reviews

Salad PieSalad Pie by Wendy BooydeGraaff
My rating: 2 of 5 stars
I wasn’t particularly a fan of this picture book but someone else may enjoy it.

Summary:

There is nothing sweeter than arriving at the playground, seeing it empty, and knowing you have it all to yourself–the silent comfort of playing alone.

Maggie is overjoyed to have that solitude to make her Salad Pie. But then Herbert saunters over and wants to play too.

“I’m making salad. Salad Pie. And don’t you touch it!”

Herbert just wants to help, even though Maggie makes it clear she won’t let him. Then her imaginary pie takes a spill, and she realizes Herbert’s intentions are not so bad after all.”
View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- April 9, 2017

  1. msyingling

    April 10, 2017 at 3:28 am

    I agree with you on grandparent stories, but the reality of middle grade is that many of them are declining rapidly. At least that is realistic, unlike all of the parents, friends, and siblings that die. My grandparents were all over 70 when I was born. It would be nice to see more picture books with vibrant grandparents. There are even a few middle grade ones.

     
  2. lindabaie

    April 10, 2017 at 7:35 am

    I love moon books,will look for Mae and the moon, Earl.

     
  3. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    April 10, 2017 at 9:21 am

    Oh wow, such a great selection of picture books, and all of them new to me! One of the frustrations I face is that books typically take so much longer to come to Canada, so I end up waiting and waiting to get my hands on great new books! :’P “Too Many Tables” looks hilarious, Abraham Schroeder looks like someone I should keep an eye on!

     
  4. Michele

    April 10, 2017 at 12:46 pm

    I don’t think I’ve heard of Ripple Grove Press, thanks for the roundup!

     
  5. cweichel

    April 10, 2017 at 12:52 pm

    It looks like you had another fabulous reading week Earl. Lots of good picture books. I appreciate how you explain the details and creation of the art in these. Sometimes, for me, picture books are all about having a collection of art to peruse. If the storyline works, that’s good to.

     
  6. Kellee from Unleashing Readers (@kelleemoye)

    April 10, 2017 at 5:53 pm

    I didn’t know any of these books, Earl, so thank you for sharing them with us 🙂
    Happy reading this week!

     
  7. Ricki Ginsberg

    April 11, 2017 at 7:36 pm

    I don’t know any of these books, either! I look forward to getting a copy of Mae and the Moon!

     

Leave a Reply

 
