RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- April 16, 2017

16 Apr

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

Celebrate This Week

Olivia the SpyOlivia the Spy by Ian Falconer
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I love Olivia and was very excited to hear there was finally a new picture book coming out. It was a much welcome return. With this latest installment, the series continues to be a charming must-read and must-have for any child’s library!
View all my reviews

This Is Not A BookThis Is Not A Book by Jean Jullien
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
(I thought I had written a review for this already! Oh, well!)

This innovative board book will be enjoyed by both kids and adults as they flip the pages and discover all the things what they hold in their hands can be!

My favorite one is when it’s a tent. There’s a quite cheeky page that I didn’t think the young ones would get but they do.
View all my reviews

Before & AfterBefore & After by Jean Julien
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I really enjoyed Jean Julien’s This is Not a Book. And Before & After doesn’t disappoint as it continues to be a funny and creative board book as well. Pair this with another recent release, My Pictures After the Storm.
View all my reviews

The Book of MistakesThe Book of Mistakes by Corinna Luyken
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
This will make any reader- young or old- fall in love with picture books. In fact, I would suggest adults buy this for themselves even if they don’t have kids.

Fans of Barney Saltzberg’s Beautiful Oops! and Kobi Yamada’s What Do You Do With an Idea? will be quite taken by Corinna Luyken’s The Book of Mistakes.

The story starts off with a mistake but, instead of giving up or starting over, the story embraces its mistake. And it leads to unexpected discoveries, more mistakes, and well… you’ve got to read it for yourself.

The illustrations is truly a piece of art and that’s why this is one of my picks to win a Caldecott!
View all my reviews

BE QUIET!BE QUIET! by Ryan T. Higgins
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Fun and funny take on a wordless picture book gone wrong.
View all my reviews

You and Me, Me and YouYou and Me, Me and You by Miguel Tanco
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Super sweet take on the parent-child dynamic and what each gives to the other. Perfect for Father’s Day.

(It’s a shame that there isn’t a picture book that can depict this bond without it being specific based on gender or drawn using animals as characters.)
View all my reviews

Passing the Music DownPassing the Music Down by Sarah Sullivan
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A great intergenerational tale of musical traditions based on a true story. I can’t see this having a wide appeal but I’m glad I read this since I didn’t know anything about this Appalachian pastime. It’s comforting to know that these things are cherished and are getting passed down because so much history is on the line.
View all my reviews

Ketzel, the Cat Who ComposedKetzel, the Cat Who Composed by Lesléa Newman
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Inspired a true story of a musician who found a cat that helped him compose a song. Sweet tale for music and animal lovers that hits the right notes about friendship and creativity.
View all my reviews

Max and BirdMax and Bird by Ed Vere

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Max the kitten is back and faces his biggest problem yet. He wants a friend and he’s hungry so when he meets Bird (a bird), he sure has a dilemma. Will Max eat his new friend or will he help Bird who has his own problem?

View all my reviews

Boo!Boo! by Ben Newman
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A cute if not a bit predictable story about a group of animals out to prove they are the bravest. This would be great for story time.
View all my reviews

Yes PleaseYes Please by Amy Poehler
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
First of all, I have to say I’m so glad I got a new phone- and an unlimited data plan- because now I can listen to audiobooks again when I go on my walks. (Portland just needs to make sure it remembers it’s spring and we could use some sun!)

I love Leslie Knope from “Parks and Recreation” and the character is a lot like the actress who plays her. Amy Poehler just seems to encourage girl power and teamwork in a positive and kind way. Even the title denotes that- Yes Please.

The book is biography (her childhood, her career in comedy) and bits (Plastic Surgery Haiku, My Books on Divorce). While I missed out on pictures listening to the audio book, it was a great production (with special guests Kathleen Turner and Seth Meyers) including a live improv reading of the last chapter. If you’ve read and enjoyed the physical book, listen to the audio book for a different experience!
View all my reviews

mustreadin2017

Babycakes (Tales of the City, #4)Babycakes by Armistead Maupin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
The gang’s back and as dysfunctional as ever. Times are changing as characters face the lost of a loved one, an uncertain future, and the arrival of the Queen of England.

I listened to this on audio book and its short chapters and soap opera plots makes it great for taking longer walks just to see what happens next.

Not as tight as previous installments- relying too much on coincidences and convenient happenings- but nevertheless enjoyable.
View all my reviews

One, Two, Buckle My Shoe (Hercule Poirot, #22)One, Two, Buckle My Shoe by Agatha Christie
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
[Agatha Christie Reading Challenge]
[Off the Shelf Reading Challenge]
View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- April 16, 2017

  1. aaroncleaveley

    April 16, 2017 at 11:13 pm

    I appreciated your reviews of Jean Jullien and also The Book of Mistakes, which I am going to look into finding. I also enjoyed Be Quiet! and many of the Olivia books although I have yet to read this new one. Thanks for the post!

     
  2. lindabaie

    April 17, 2017 at 7:45 am

    Thanks for the Jean Julien books, Earl. They are new to me. You’ve shared so many that sound great. I’ll definitely look for The Book of Mistakes! Thank you!

     
  3. Michele

    April 17, 2017 at 8:12 am

    BE QUIET is in the pile for today! I can’t wait to take a look at THE BOOK OF MISTAKES. It sounds good, but I’m interested in seeing the artwork for it too.

     
  4. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    April 17, 2017 at 8:48 am

    What an amazing week!! I’m so looking forward to BE QUIET, and a new Olivia picture book makes me so happy!!

     
  5. cweichel

    April 17, 2017 at 12:07 pm

    Hi Earl, I am also an Olivia fan and can’t wait to read this one. I love picture books that work for adults and children, so I must find and read The Book of Mistakes.
    Of all the wonderful books on your list, I am most envious about Max and Bird. I love all the Max books and am so looking forward to this one!

     
  6. Ricki Ginsberg

    April 17, 2017 at 7:45 pm

    I agree with you. The Book of Mistakes was absolutely beautiful. I think I will frame some of it as artwork.

     
  7. Crystal

    April 17, 2017 at 8:04 pm

    I have heard a lot of good things about The Book of Mistakes. I will have to look for it. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
