RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- April 23, 2017

23 Apr

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read reviews of biographies about Zitkala-Sa and Malala.

goatee

The Goatee that Lived Sustainably by Kyle B. Hart

I’m really super impressed by Kyle B. Hart’s Facial Hair Fables series and the way he partners with nonprofits to donate a portion of his sales for each book. In the third book, a boy learns about sustainable living from the oddest source imaginable- his father’s goatee! Based on the super quirkiness of these books, I would say it has an appeal for adults as well!

Pass It OnPass It On by Sophy Henn
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Catchy illustrations. Peppy message. Happiness is all around us. Seek it and pass it on.
View all my reviews

The Almost Impossible ThingThe Almost Impossible Thing by Basak Agaoglu
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A cute book about a bunny wanting to fly. It’s a story of not giving up on one’s dreams, to work towards them despite skeptics and naysaysers and what might be possible with a bit of teamwork!
View all my reviews

Find the DotsFind the Dots by Andy Mansfield
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A surprisingly difficult puzzle of a book. Interactive elements will have readers searching for dots in the fun inventive ways.
View all my reviews

Charlie & Mouse (Charlie & Mouse, #1)Charlie & Mouse by Laurel Snyder
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Fans of Frog and Toad will enjoy the adventures of these two brothers. I wished books one and two in this new series were released together because this one didn’t leave much of an impression on me.
View all my reviews

RodzillaRodzilla by Rob Sanders
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
There’s a creature loose in the city. He’s causing quite a scene. He’s chubby and toothless. He’s Rodzilla! Can anyone calm him down? Anyone with a toddler in their lives will enjoy this hilarious tale!
View all my reviews

Little Wolf's First HowlingLittle Wolf’s First Howling by Laura McGee Kvasnosky
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Big Wolf is teaching Little Wolf the proper ways of howling. But Little Wolf has a wildness in him that he just needs to express. Will Big Wolf and Little Wolf learn to see things eye to eye?

Fun howling story time.
View all my reviews

CatStronauts: Mission MoonCatStronauts: Mission Moon by Drew Brockington
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Cute cat comic. It’s up to the Catstronauts to keep the planet powered up when there’s a sudden power shortage. Will they get to the moon in time? Will a secret stowaway compromise the mission?

Young readers- and cat lovers- will enjoy this new series.
View all my reviews

The Little Book of Hygge: The Danish Way to Live WellThe Little Book of Hygge: The Danish Way to Live Well by Meik Wiking
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I’m all for happiness and I’m sure living the hygge way will make people happy but a part of me seems like this will be just a fad, popular only because so many have picked up on it at the same time- like Starbuck’s unicorn Frappuccino.

Hygge is basically a sense of comfort with a nod to the alternative. Sipping coffee by the fireplace with friends is hygge but it’s more hygge if there’s a storm brewing outside.

The book (which I listened to as an audio) also includes lists and recipes. I like how it doesn’t take itself too seriously. A quick read like a long magazine.
View all my reviews

mustreadin2017

The Cat Stole My Pants (Timmy Failure, #6)The Cat Stole My Pants by Stephan Pastis
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
The sixth book is this hilarious series finds Timmy Failure facing lots of changes including a new location (they’re vacationing in Key West) and a new partner (his step-cousin while his polar bear sidekick has defected to Cuba). Plus, he must deal with summer school assignments, hidden treasure, pants-stealing cats, and his dad.

I’m excited at how the next book will tackle all of these changes!
View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- April 23, 2017

  1. lindabaie

    April 24, 2017 at 8:07 am

    I shared The Almost Impossible Thing today too, Earl, a lovely book! The “goatee” book a la ‘facial hair fables’ is new to me. My husband would have loved it, and now my son-in-law. Thanks for that and the others, too, Earl. You often share those that are new, and I appreciate it.

     
  2. Michele

    April 24, 2017 at 8:36 am

    I read the two CatStronauts this weekend and I think kids are going to really like the series. I like how there is some STEM brought into the storyline.
    I wish I could find The Almost Impossible Thing! Neither local library has it. I’ll keep checking.

     
  3. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    April 24, 2017 at 9:36 am

    OK, I just had to laugh at the facial hair fables – I live in a pretty darn hipster city, so I have a feeling that would tickle a lot of readers! 🙂

     
  4. cweichel

    April 24, 2017 at 9:38 am

    This is the second or maybe the third time I’ve read about The Almost Impossible Thing today. I’m going to have to find a copy of it. It isn’t yet available at my library, but that is probably a good thing since I am already overwhelmed with books to read. I’m glad you are enjoying the Timmy Failure series. They didn’t work for me, but they were popular with many readers at my school.

     
  5. Karen Yingling

    April 24, 2017 at 6:04 pm

    Sigh. More Timmy Failure. Thanks for the heads up. I’m still not entirely sure if the polar bear is imaginary or not!

     
  6. crbrunelle

    April 24, 2017 at 7:41 pm

    Not sure I have ever read a book with facial hair as a character. 😉 I would give it a try though. I have seen others writing about The Almost Impossible Thing and have requested it from my library. It’s on order. I am not a big Timmy Failure fan, but I know students who would enjoy reading more of those.

     
  7. Myra GB

    April 24, 2017 at 8:13 pm

    So much love for The Almost Impossible Thing! 🙂 Will definitely borrow it from the library this weekend. 🙂

     
  8. aaroncleaveley

    April 25, 2017 at 8:06 pm

    I have been seeing a lot of Rodzilla, it looks funny. It looks like you had another very good week of reading! Thanks for the post, lots of good stuff to add (The Almost Impossible Thing).

     

Leave a Reply

 
