RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- April 30, 2017

30 Apr

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:
Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday– Read my reviews for Cinco Puntos Press’s First Concepts in Mexican Folk Art series.

The Treasure BoxThe Treasure Box by Margaret Wild
My rating: 4 of 5 stars A beautiful book that takes places during a horrible time- “As war rages, Peter and his father flee their home, taking with them a treasure box that holds something more precious than jewels.”

This is about the power of story and the important of preserving one’s family legacy from generation to generation.

The illustrations are something to savor.
View all my reviews

Shine!Shine! by Patrick McDonnell
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
The names on the cover will be enough for people to pick up this picture book. Patrick McDonnel tells the story of a starfish who wishes his world was better, brighter, but realizes a change of scenery might not be what he needs after all but a change in how he looks at things. Naoko Stoop’s illustrations is a charming companion to the text.
View all my reviews

The Good for Nothing ButtonThe Good for Nothing Button by Charise Mericle Harper
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
In the third offering in the Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! series, we meet three friends and their different reactions to a button. My words will not bring justice to how fun this book is. I can just picture how many giggling kids there will be when reading this!
View all my reviews

Random Kindness and Senseless Acts of BeautyRandom Kindness and Senseless Acts of Beauty by Anne Herbert
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This modern parable based on Anne Herbert’s famous quote, “Practice random kindness and senseless acts of beauty.” includes a foreword from Archbishop Desmond Tutu.

It teaches us that the world is ours and it is up to us to create the world we want. What we put out in the world (peace and respect vs. violence) will result in the kind of world we live in,
View all my reviews

MasterpieceMasterpiece by Elise Broach
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A delightful middle grade novel about a boy who befriends a beetle with a hidden talent. The two unlikely friends soon find themselves in the middle of an art heist. While they may be of different species, they both realize they have things in common.

This would be a perfect family read-aloud (and book club selection) because not only will kids get into the story, the adults may find themselves pondering certain passages themselves. The author throws in some insights on family dynamics and even the not-quite-black-and-white-ness of justice.
View all my reviews

mustreadin2017

Significant OthersSignificant Others by Armistead Maupin
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
By far, my least favorite in the Tales of the City series.

Not only has the characters I’ve gotten close to become quite insufferable but there are also new characters I really had no interest in. I understand that they are flawed beings but it’s almost like character assassination the way Armistead Maupin seemed to make them unlikable this go around.

And for some reason, the over the top situations that I delighted in before didn’t work- neither did the “it’s a small world” of it all.

But to be fair, the second half of the book was much better than the first.
View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

4 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- April 30, 2017

  1. cweichel

    April 30, 2017 at 9:37 pm

    Freya Blackwood’s cover illustration for The Treasure Box is drop dead gorgeous. I can’t wait to read this one. Shine and The Good for Nothing Button look like good choices too. I’ve seen Masterpiece on shelves, but never read it. It sounds like a good read. I love books that work for parents and children.

     
  2. Michele

    May 1, 2017 at 9:15 am

    Shine and The Good for Nothing Button are in my pile to read very soon.
    I’m adding The Treasure Box!

     
  3. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    May 1, 2017 at 10:02 am

    The Good For Nothing Button looks delightful!

     
  4. Myra GB

    May 7, 2017 at 8:42 pm

    I find Armistead Maupin to be a hit/miss for me. I didn’t particularly enjoy the very first book, which I found to be singularly affected, but all the others I enjoyed. I discovered The Treasure Box while I was in Munich last year – looking forward to discovering more book treasures there this summer when I return.

     

Leave a Reply

 
