RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- May 7, 2017

07 May

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

gly1
I just found out that Gene Luen Yang (with Sonny Liew) wrote an exclusive comic for (the Chinese restaurant chain) Panda Express continuing the adventures and misadventures of the Asian superhero, the Green Turtle. In “Shadow Hero Comics #1: Real Heroes,” a new caped crusader comes to the aide of their crime-ridden city. Who’s behind the mask? Will there be more comics? Grab a free copy with the purchase of a kid’s meal at Panda Express all this month which is Asian Pacific American Heritage Month! Or download it here.

The 24-page comic features some background on the character and its original creator, a couple of activities and information about Gene Luen Yang’s Reading Without Walls challenge.

The Thing Lou Couldn't DoThe Thing Lou Couldn’t Do by Ashley Spires
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A fun book about overcoming your fears with a little help of your friends.
View all my reviews

Along the RiverAlong the River by Vanina Starkoff
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A cute picture book from Brazil about river life and the different goings-on there. Vibrant illustrations depicts different kinds of boats and people. Lots of details makes it perfect for rereading.
View all my reviews

DreamDream by Matthew Cordell
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
This will make a sweet gift for expecting parents or maybe even as a graduation gift.

Another instance where I wish it was available as a board book.
View all my reviews

Stack the CatsStack the Cats by Susie Ghahremani
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Cute counting book featuring cats that do all sorts of things. Adorable.
View all my reviews

Town Is by the SeaTown Is by the Sea by Joanne Schwartz
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
This was an interesting read. The poetic text and the gorgeous illustrations complement one another well. I was worried something bad was going to happen which I guess is the point. Because mining is a dangerous job. The upholding of tradition is also evident.

This book would be a good study for writers.
View all my reviews

Rapunzel (Once Upon a World)Rapunzel by Chloe Perkins
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
A cute new board book series takes fairy tales and sets them in a different country. This would be a good addition to fans of Indestructibles, Cozy Classics, BabyLit, and Global Babies.

I just realized after reading this one and checking the first two books in the series that the illustrators are from the countries the stories take place in giving the artwork a cultural authenticity.
View all my reviews

Super Narwhal and Jelly Jolt  (Narwhal and Jelly)Super Narwhal and Jelly Jolt by Ben Clanton
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A super addition to a new series that will be a hit with beginning readers with the right amount of silly and heart. I liked this much better the first one partly because I knew what to expect and yet I was still surprised and amused.
View all my reviews

Real FriendsReal Friends by Shannon Hale
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Fans of Smile, Sisters, El Deafo, and Roller Girl will gobble up this graphic novel. It’s a great coming-of-age story about outgrowing friends, meeting new ones, and finding a group where one can truly belong.
View all my reviews

Inside Out & Back AgainInside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I’d been meaning o read this for awhile now and it didn’t disappoint. (I listened to this as an audio book.)

Based on the author’s actual experiences, this novel in verse tells the story of a family having to leave their home country of Vietnam during war time to uncharted territories of a new place, new language, and new culture. It tackles the kindness and meanness of strangers, the necessity and frustrations of family, and finding the necessary strength in a beautiful and ugly world. Readers will experience these dualities as well and find themselves laughing and crying as they get to know Ha and her family.
View all my reviews

DryDry by Augusten Burroughs
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I had very mixed feelings about this.

I listened to the whole thing on audio book and I enjoyed it for the most part. I laughed and sympathized with the narrator.

I also thought he was too smart for his own good and coming off as conceited even when he was trying to put himself down.

It’s nice to read LGBTQ books that shows how they’re as flawed and imperfect and trying to figure life out just like everyone else and Augusten Burroughs definitely succeeded at coming off as those things.
View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

7 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- May 7, 2017

  1. cweichel

    May 7, 2017 at 9:40 pm

    I have actually read some of these books Earl! I enjoyed The Thing Lou Couldn’t Do and am hooked on the Jelly series. I also read Real Friends this week. It is amazing. I ended up purchasing a lit circle set of Inside Out & Back Again. It was so popular that I ended up purchasing another set.

     
  2. Akilah

    May 7, 2017 at 10:09 pm

    I’m super interested in reading the Shannon Hale book, and I can’t tell if it’s because I really like Shannon Hale or super love the illustrator. Either way, I’m glad you enjoyed it.

     
  3. lindabaie

    May 8, 2017 at 6:09 am

    I just read one of the Narwhal books, and thought it was a lot of fun, will look for this one, too. I put Dry on my list too, hope I can find it, Earl. Thanks for all you share!

     
  4. Michele

    May 8, 2017 at 6:16 am

    A lot of these books are on my list this week too! I absolutely loved Real Friends. This is a book I wish I had when I was in middle school. I think it’s going to be an important book for many many young readers.
    Dream is in my stack for this week!

     
  5. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    May 8, 2017 at 9:31 am

    I’m so looking forward to Stack the Cats! Cute illustrations, math, and cats – what’s not to love?? 🙂

     
  6. TeachersforTeachers (@ClareandTammy)

    May 8, 2017 at 4:39 pm

    Inside Out and Back Again is one of our favorite books in verse – So many layers of meaning. Thanks for reminding us about the Narwhal series. We are ordering copies of this series from the library tonight!

     
  7. Myra GB

    May 14, 2017 at 10:19 pm

    I absolutely loved Inside Out and Back Again – and thrilled to see so many new picturebooks, which I am now adding to my Goodreads list. 🙂 Dream in particular caught my eye.

     

Leave a Reply

 
