RSS

My Reading Week #IMWAYR- May 14, 2017

14 May

I changed the name for my “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” posts to “My Reading Week.”

This week, I posted:

-Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday

-Celebrate This Week– This week, I’m celebrating The Lord of the Rings.

fotb

For Free Comic Book Day, I went to Floating World Comics close to where I live and got a copy of the one-shot issue of Fresh Off the Boat presents: Legion of Dope-Itude featuring Lazy Boy a tie-in to a recent episode. Also great is that it was written by Gene Luen Yang. I’ve only seen clips of the show but was familiar enough with the premise and the characters to get a kick out of seeing their superhero personas. Plus, tying in with the fitting in aspect of the show was the main character of the show and the comic trying to figure out if people like him for who he really is and not this superhero version of himself.

A Perfect Season for Dreaming / Un tiempo perfecto para soñarA Perfect Season for Dreaming / Un tiempo perfecto para soñar by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
It’s nice to run into a backlist title I hadn’t heard about. I love the Saenz’s YA novel Aristotle & Dante and I recently reviewed a book series from Cinco Puntos Press and I was checking out their catalog and ran into this title.

A charming bilingual picture book about a grandfather who has rich vibrant fanciful dreams. He wants to share them but afraid of what others might think of him once he does. Will he find a perfect confidant?
View all my reviews

Jabari JumpsJabari Jumps by Gaia Cornwall
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A day in the pool becomes a test of courage for Jabari. He wants to leap off the diving board but realizes he should let the kids in front of him go first, he hasn’t stretched, and so on. If its something he really wants to do, will he be brave enough to do so?
View all my reviews

That Neighbor KidThat Neighbor Kid by Daniel Miyares
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
In this nearly wordless picture book, a curious girl wonders what the neighbor boy is up to. Not only does she find an answer but a new friendship as well.
View all my reviews

My Friend LuckyMy Friend Lucky by David Milgrim
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Learning the opposites is incorporated into this sweet friendship story between a boy and his dog. Paired with cute illustrations.
View all my reviews

Chirri & Chirra: The Springtime MeadowChirri & Chirra: The Springtime Meadow by Kaya Doi
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
This series from Japan is a charming adventure of two little girls on sweet adventures that are small in size but big in imagination. The sequel finds them following an array of meadow creatures and discovering what they do in their various homes.
View all my reviews

LolaLola by Elbert Or
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
I love discovering Filipino stories by Filipino creators. This graphic novel published in Portland by Oni Press is by a Filipino writer- J. Torres- and Filipino illustrator- Elbert Or. “Lola” is Tagalog for “grandmother.” Returning to the Philippines for his Lola’s funeral, Jesse must come to terms with letting her go and accepting they both shared the same ability to see the supernatural.

Can he control his visions? Will he be able to stand his ground against the creatures that go bump in the night? Is what he has a blessing or a curse?

Lola is full of Filipino folktales intertwined with Jesse’s family’s stories.
View all my reviews

mustreadin2017

Avatar: The Last Airbender - North and South (Avatar: The Last Airbender, Library Edition, #5)Avatar: The Last Airbender – North and South by Gene Luen Yang
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
It’s good to reconnect with Team Avatar in this new trilogy continuing the storylines from the TV series.

I had the read and enjoyed the other four trilogies before watching and loving the series- and even watched the spin-off series The Legend of Korra- so I’ve become more of a fanatic with official new stories.

Katara and Sokka return home only to find everything’s changed. It’s a battle between maintaining and preserving the past while trying to move forward. The stakes are high when both sides have valid points and loyalties shift and lives threatened.

I highly recommend reading the each series as a whole when each part comes out or waiting for the omnibus editions and maybe space them out because the plot lines may seem formulaic as each member of Team Avatar practically have to tackle a new world after a devastating war and coming to terms with the old and new ways of life.
View all my reviews

Review Notes
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

You can view all the books I’ve read at my Goodreads page.

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Have a great reading week!

 

5 responses to “My Reading Week #IMWAYR- May 14, 2017

  1. Karen Yingling

    May 15, 2017 at 3:17 am

    I think I read Lola a while back. Certainly seeing a few more books from Filipino writers– how is your writing going? I’m going to make more of an effort this summer to work on my book!

     
  2. lindabaie

    May 15, 2017 at 6:46 am

    Lots of books new to me this week, Earl, so thank you. I hope I can find Lola, and That Neighbor Kid looks nice, too.

     
  3. Michele

    May 15, 2017 at 8:32 am

    I quickly read Jabari Jumps months ago, I need to go back to it! That Neighbor Kid is in my pile!

     
  4. cweichel

    May 15, 2017 at 8:47 am

    You have so many wonderful books this week! A Perfect Season for Dreaming and Lola are now on reserve for me. I’m especially excited about Lola because we have a growing population of Filipino students in our schools and it is always wonderful to find good literature for them.

     
  5. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    May 15, 2017 at 10:55 am

    I can absolutely relate to Jabari Jumps, having been the child who desperately wanted to jump off the diving board, but…who also wasn’t all that keen on heights! 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
