RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- May 17, 2017

17 May

nfpb2017

Who Was J. R. R. Tolkien?Who Was J. R. R. Tolkien? by Pam Pollack
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
A pretty comprehensive biography of one of the most genius writers of all time. Lots of tidbits that may or may not be well known. I know I learned some new things which made me appreciate his life and his work even more. You really get a sense of how his life inspired many things in his books.
View all my reviews

Read my reviews of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings.

Why We March: Signs of Protest and HopeWhy We March: Signs of Protest and Hope by Artisan Press
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Basically a photo album with the occasional quote thrown in, this is nonetheless a great reminder of how people all over the world participated in the Women’s March of January 2017. May this remind readers they aren’t alone in their fight for justice and equality and inspire them to continue fighting. There may be strong language on some of the signs but older kids will definitely benefit from this. And hopefully they’ll have an adult to help answer questions or to connect them to resources to help them participate in this ongoing movement.
View all my reviews

Malala: A Hero for All (Step into Reading)Malala: A Hero for All by Shana Corey
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Being such a huge fan of Malala and her father and their fight for children’s education, I’m surprised I hadn’t read this one sooner. This is a great introduction for younger readers to learn about someone who can inspire them to find an issue they’re passionate about and to pursue it.
View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- May 17, 2017

  1. Michele

    May 17, 2017 at 9:01 am

    I’ll be on the lookout for Why We March. That looks to be visually a powerful book.

     
  2. annettepimentel

    May 17, 2017 at 3:01 pm

    I just read the picture book about Tolkien, John Ronald’s Dragons. I loved it. Didn’t realize there was a biography for older kids too.

     
  3. lindabaie

    May 17, 2017 at 6:59 pm

    Earl, these all look great! I will look for the Tolkien for me, for Why We March & the Malala book, too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
