RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- May 31, 2017

31 May

nfpb2017

She PersistedShe Persisted by Chelsea Clinton
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In what I’m sure will be one of this year’s bestselling nonfiction picture books, Chelsea Clinton presents the lives of 13 American women who persisted despite obstacles and setbacks and naysayers. Perfect for a younger audience.

View all my reviews

Science Comics: Flying Machines: How the Wright Brothers SoaredScience Comics: Flying Machines: How the Wright Brothers Soared by Alison Wilgus
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was a tad too technical for my taste. I’m more tend to like nonfiction when it doesn’t seem like I’m reading a textbook or a manual. I’ve got to give props for how they handled dispensing all the necessary information AND also spotlighting a figure who doesn’t get credit in the story of the Wright brothers (at least in the others I’ve heard)- their younger sister Katherine who serves as the narrator in this latest installment of Science Comics.

View all my reviews

 

3 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge #NFPB2017- May 31, 2017

  1. Jane the Raincity Librarian

    May 31, 2017 at 9:42 am

    She Persisted sounds absolutely perfect, I can’t wait to see a copy of it.

     
  2. lindabaie

    May 31, 2017 at 1:34 pm

    Thanks, Earl. I’ve seen many references to “She Persisted” today. I imagine it will be a sellout. And it’s great to have one for younger readers like this.

     
  3. michelle @ books my kids read

    May 31, 2017 at 6:57 pm

    I reviewed “She Persisted” as well. I’ve seen those science comics books, but have yet to read one. Very interesting.

     

Leave a Reply

 
